Le Chat

This is Jake.

Meet Jake.

This is a story about Jake, and his cat mug.

No, not Mug Cats (thanks to Courtney for bringing this to my attention!)

I’m talking about the cat mug. The cat mug. This guy.

“I can’t remember whether it’s 1973 or 1965,” Jake muses, regarding the cat mug’s date of birth, “I’ll have to look it up.” At any rate, he is certain that Le Chat‘s been in his family for longer than he has, and this is an indefinite but longish amount of time, indeed.

The vessel is the design of two bros called Taylor and Ng, who are apparently San Fransisco based cat mug artists. “I can’t remember what series it’s in…” Jake continues, “they did a bunch of different series…but it’s the perfect mug, the perfect size, the perfect shape…” he trails off.

Le Chat only makes up one member of the family of mugs Jake’s own family is lucky enough to own– there is also an angel cat mug, used primarily by his mustachioed dad, and a duck mug (“The duck is called Le Canard” he laughs. “I forget what the angel cat says…it’s becoming easy to see why I lose the cat mug so much.”) in his older sister’s possession.

But Jake’s attachment to the cat mug is truly unparalleled, which makes his frequent loss of it so traumatic, and its loyal return to him so emotionally satisfying. I have personally seen the cat mug make several heroic Homeward Bound-esque moves back into Jake’s open arms, and I have been just as worried in its absence. He loves that thing. “It goes everywhere with me except here [New Zealand] and wherever I am when I lose it.”

Jake asserts, “I’d probably put it in top three prized possessions.”
“What are the other two?” I ask.
“I don’t know.” Jake replies.

The cat mug truly does go everywhere, though– toted faithfully from one location to another, the mug is used in the place of every disposable paper cup, each one of my brilliant collection of secondhand coffee mugs offered up in the pre-cohabitation times. That man’s got stars in his eyes and a cat mug in his paw.

Can you find the cat mug? I can!

If you can't see zee cat mug now, you must not have eyes.

The cat mug is a great comfort-object, pleasant to warm your hands when it’s full of coffee and you’ve been sleeping in a dome all winter. It sits quiet in its unblinking-coyness of being, a true companion and dependable breakfast buddy.

Breakfast-- not as good, sans Chat.

Jake’s unbridled enthusiasm for Le Chat is one of the purest things I’ve ever seen. Truly.

Like a Cat Himself.

Let their love live on and on.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Le Chat

  1. Sarah says:

    what is that small corncob with a face?

    i love this blog more than i can express.

    xoxo miew miao

  2. bearicaquinn says:

    Coon! That is a horrifying corn statuette my friend Dave brought me from Iowa. It is a salt and/or pepper shaker. It appears to be saying, “I didn’t do it.” It is awful, and Jake hates it and always hides it, but I am proud to call it mine.

  3. Pingback: From the Innards of Jake’s Brain, Computer | welltailoredsuit

  4. Pingback: A WHOLE MESS’O’CATS | welltailoredsuit

  5. Pingback: New Day! | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

