Now Presenting… Shy Cat

[Sighting: Maori Hill, Dunedin, NZ]

Okay, so there’s this cat that’s been hanging around the house for as long as we’ve lived here, certainly, and Jacqui assures us it’s been for many moons before that as well. He is quite shy. We call him Shy Cat.

Most times we see him we are coming home, and he is perched upon the wall, and I coo, “ohhhhh” and start talking in my cat voice, “meow meow, meow meow!”, and he gazes at us with suspicision, and I think, “c’mon, I live here, just let us have a little pet…yeah, okay, that’s right…” and as soon as I get too close, which is about three feet on most days, he slinks away quickly and with great Shyness. (Note: I am mostly certain he is just playing hard to get.)

One time we were all eating in the kitchen and through the big window over the sink we saw him, walking on the rooftops between houses, hidden partially by flowers and unkempt foliage. He gazed directly into our eyes. “Shy Cat!” I yelled, with great eagerness. He bolted.

However, sometimes cat voyeurs like yours truly can keep a little quiet, not come on too strong,  like this morning at breakfast time (coffee, yogurt, homemade granola).

Jake snapped this series for all you loyal readers. “I want you to see how creepy you are.” he comments from his languid pose on the bed, where he tries on my $2.00 sunglasses and claims that he is cool. “Look at me, I’m cool.”

Sad Girl Notices Shy Cat

Changing her tactics, keeping a lid on it.

Composition with Shy Cat and Garden Shed

So. Perhaps this is a lesson in being quietly, rather than overtly, creepy?

In other news, check out THIS! Kazia, brilliant and beautiful Girl Reporter and Roy, ferret-friend to all, brought this news item about how cats eat their breakfasts to me this morning. Please, please enjoy. I know that I don’t know much about science, but if I was a scientist I’d be THIS KIND.

Your choice of liberal news sources:
http://www.npr.org/2010/11/11/131241860/pet-physics-the-uncanny-lapping-of-cats
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/12/science/12cats.html?_r=1&scp=2&sq=cat&st=cse

Take care, my lovelies.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

