The Cat With the Tortoiseshell Coat

[Sighting: Maori Hill, Dunedin, NZ]

Some of the time, I am composed, physically-fit, well-read, graceful, and politically informed.

Most of the time I am like this:

Christie is like this too! (Thanks for bringing this to my attention!)

I reverted to this state on a recent spring evening, when Jake and I were on our way home from a jog. (SIDE NOTE: I CAN RUN WITHOUT STOPPING FOR 2.4 MILES NOW– NEW WORLD RECOOOORRRRRRDDDDDDD.) When I spotted this beauty.

I’ve seen this particular animal before, and I have gasped similarly on those occasions– “OHHHHHHH, who’s a kitty!” Luckily, this time we had a camera and there was no owner in sight. GOOD TO GO.

Like Gutter Cat, The Cat With the Tortoiseshell Coat was suuuuuper move-y, and therefore difficult to photograph, but we did our best, and this is what we came up with. Luckily, for as much as he is move-y, he is equally AWESOME. Very sweet, very cuddly, very snuggly against our loving, outstretched hands, and very eager to play our games– it just so happened that Jake had a length of rope in his pocket (that he’d just been using to play with a mouse, which he would later chew on….which are both other stories).

This Cat is Blurry Like Bigfoot/Loch Ness Monster

You might have noticed that many cats featured on this blog have been “sighted” in Maori Hill, the suburb where we’re currently living and therefore cat-searching. It should be noted that we leave the hill– often, actually. BUT THIS IS JUST WHERE THE CATS HANG OUT. Which is super convenient for me. Cats galore! Hooray.

We both tried, very much in vain, to pet the kitty for long enough to gather satisfactory photographic evidence. Like I said— this did not go so well.

Bearica and Kitty Cat

Jake and CAT

Finally, horribly, embarrassingly, Jake managed to snag this one. It may be the most truly representative photograph of myself that I’ve ever seen.

"KITTTTTTY"

Long live the cats in this neighborhood! I hope to “catch” the one that gazed after me with a look of sexual longing next time…..on zee cat blog.

Stay safe.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cat With the Tortoiseshell Coat

  1. Kristin says:

    Erica Quinn, you are the smartest lady I know.

  2. Eliphalet Chubson says:

    XKCD sucks dick. Otherwise, awesome catblog post!

  3. Emily says:

    This one looks just like my babies!!! Erica we have 7, yes I said it SEVEN cats here on the farm. I can’t wait for you homecoming! You and Jake must meet all these personalities, they are quite the delight!

Leave a Reply

