“That black cat is out there again.”

This morning, much to my delight, I had received this cat sighting all the way from New Mexico! What a feat. My dearest Camera Coon, stationed with her husband Jerry Coon (who once tried to save Christmas) in the small small town of San Fidel, NM, writes that she’s “ashamed” that this is her first cat blog contribution, but I deem that it was certainly worth the wait. Agreeing that “cats bring people together”, the Coon has captured some elusive kitty shots and stories just for you lucky bros.

[sighting: San Fidel, NM, USA]

The cat from the wild, wild west. The Coons live in a ghost town. Did you know that? The internets told me.

There is definitely more than one cat here, and I think they must be related because half of them are all-black, but our particular black kitty can be seen in and around the yard of the convent that lives next door, on our front steps, under our front steps, near the school buses, between our trailer and our next-door-trailer, and over on the hill near our compost pile. He is a wanderer, no doubt, and I suspect that it is he and his friend, a fat, fluffy, grey thing, that keep the mices out of our houses.

We haven’t decided to call him anything yet; mostly we’ll say that “the black cat is out there again.” But ever since your Catblog, I’ve been trying to think of other appropriate monikers. Convent Kitty came to mind, as did Compost Kitty, Lurky, Stairmaster, and Stalker Cat, since he is almost always outside our house watching us. But I’ll let you decide, as you are the go-to informator to us, your paltry human friends, on anything and everything cat. Which name would be best, considering Black Kitty’s propensities? [editor’s note: I like Stairmaster. Also, Lurky.]

the first three photos are the only photos (to date) that have been taken of him, and I happily snapped them the other day as I returned from food-shopping in Albuquerque, an hour’s drive east. He must have known we’d be gone a long time and would have the run of the place, but he didn’t reckon on just what time we’d be arriving home. When I pulled into the shared enclosure of our teacher trailers and the convent, there he was, in the driveway on the left by the workroom shed. I came to a stop and grabbed my camera, which was in my purse, and caught him on his run to hide under the school buses (pictures 2 and 3). He stayed under there a long time while we pulled in front of our house. I got out, and he watched me while I inched closer and closer to him. I didn’t get within 20 feet of him before he ran out from under the bus and hid for good. I’ve only seen him once since.

On Thanksgiving, we got snow, and I went out around sunrise to take pictures. I found his catty footprints in the snow all around our trailer (picture 4) and followed them around the enclosure and to the front yard of the convent. St. Francis was there waiting for me, so I took his picture (photo 5), and it looked as if he was holding his dear little birds close to him to keep them safe from the sneaky clutches of our cat. He looks displeased at best. Behind him and to the right, you can see the tell-tale stealthy catprints of He Who Stalks and Threatens Holy Birds.

"the last photo details Kitty's road as he went off south through the holes in the convent's fence under the apple trees."

The Coon, who if you have not yet realized, is a talented photographer and excellent human being, finishes her detailed report with promises to keep us “updated on his whereabouts and behaviors, but he is very sly, and it is extremely hard to catch him. I’m going to have to bust out my telephoto, I fear.”

Mmtz. Thanks for you feline finds, lovely Coon of mine. Das readership thanks you as well.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “That black cat is out there again.”

  1. Pingback: Catching Up: Happy Valenkitty’s Day! | welltailoredsuit

  2. Pingback: J4 | welltailoredsuit

  3. Pingback: Vacation Time: Ripe for zee Gatos | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

