He’s Cracked.

We all knew that Hugh Augustine Quinn Daly liked cats. Or, at least everyone who was there the day he crocheted a cat-hat for the ever-lovely Claudia Knepp knows.

Claudia Knepp and Hand-Hewn Cat Hat

But, for the first time in a public arena, Quinn finally admits his feline soft spot. “Now,” he begins, “I gotta admit, I’ve never been a huuuuuge fan of cats. I’ll always help out an animal in need, like Fred Durst, or my old barn kitty Leibniz.”  [pictured here]

Fancy Kitty

But for the most part, I’ve been more drawn to dogs and, of course, ponies. They just make more sense to me!

But I have crossed paths with a few felines in my day, and I’d like to profile one of them here for all of you cat fanciers. His name is JP, and he’s the property cat on the farm where I do a lot of work.

The interesting thing about JP, though, and probably the reason I like him so much, is that he acts like a dog. The dude has no idea how to be a cat.

JP has a posse he rolls with, which includes two labs and two beagles. I know this is a catblog, but adorable knows no borders, so I have included part of the JPosse here:

Quinn continues.

This guy, like I said, doesn’t know how to act like a cat. In the spring and fall, when the weather is chilly, you’ll find him curled up in the middle of a five-animal puppy pile, sharing warmth and being lazy. This is the second most adorable thing I have ever seen, but every time I have come close enough to get a picture, the puppy pile suddenly disbands and swarms me for pettings. This is frustrating, but I won’t complain about someone being happy to see me.

JP, much like a dog, likes to go on long walks. He will trot along with the other animals for miles, never straying. It’s not something you expect from a cat.

I’ve always liked people who don’t act like they should, and so maybe that’s why I like JP so much. Just because you were born a cat doesn’t mean you can’t be a dog, too.

He’s no tiny cat, either, as you can clearly see here. I have thoughtfully included myself for scale.

Quinn for Kitty Scale

“So,” Quinn finishes, removing his boots and sipping from his flask-with-the-little-window gingerly,  “here’s to JP, a cat that does things his own way!”

And here’s to Quinn, a guy with whom I expect to spend the remainder of my toast-crumb-covered days. I’M CRAZY, NO REALLY.

"Keep your own back warm."

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

