Animal Attic

I’m sorry to say that today we’re leaving the house we’ve been living in for the last three months. The reason I am most regretful is because this house seems to be a magnet for fantastic felines. If this was an episode of The Golden Girls, this would be the part where you’d hear dreamy harp-ish music and all those bejeweled ladies would gaze off into the nearby distance and one would say, “it’s like that time….”

Cue cheerful montage of past events.

Sadly, this is not an episode of das Golden Girls, and so instead of montaging all the awesome cats I’ve seen since living here, you can just sort through the blog archives. Today has only room for some new cats. Which also happen to be old.

On the final day of my relatives’ recent visit, we paid a visit to the Otago Museum, an institution which thought of girls like me when they were designing the layout of the galleries– capping the the whole building with a large room called The Animal Attic.

Animal Attic with Jake for Scale

Anyways, the Animal Attic is rife with relatively poorly-stuffed giant cats. As a dedicated cat-blogger, I felt it was my sincere duty to document these for you. Enjoy.

These were apparently escaped circus lions, which were promptly shot and stuffed upon capture.

Ocelot

Ocelot and Guardian Angel Cat

They claim this is a cat but it looks more like a possum to me.

Aunt JoAnn, a dedicated cat-hater, said it was mean to put the cats near the mice.

Imma make u into a rug.

An unusual addition to the bird exhibit, I thought.

Visiting the Animal Attic, I reflected on my long-time semi-latent interest in taxidermy. My only real experience is with mealy worms, and that gooey episode taught me that it’s not so much the process that interests me, but the sort of weird and gross way the animals look when you’re done. Maybe I should be a collector. We saw a truly horrible stuffed baby deer in a second hand store yesterday, one that was too gruesome to look upon. I need to get myself some of those things.

One of the nice things about being a photographer, I’ve found, is that you are more able to collect weird things by writing them off as “props”.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Animal Attic

  1. Eliphalet Chubson says:

    A+ Animal Attic Antics

  2. Kristin says:

    Ericcccccaaaaa!!! I finally got my life in order enough to write your address on a card and you mooooooooovvvvvvveeeee? Aggggaaaaaaaiiiiiiinnnnnn?

    Where do you live now, slacker? Jeeze, you and your awesome life.

    • bearicaquinn says:

      Haha. I am honored by your penmanship thoughts of me. My parents don’t quite know it yet, but they’ll be handling all my mail for this month.

      303 Fern Ridge Road
      White Haven, PA, 18661

      Blammo.

  3. Pingback: Merry Merry Cat-mas. | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

