Settin’ out dem cat trapz.

Well, we’re gone now and I am internet slumming at the public library to bring this cat blog to you on this fine New Zealand Saturday.

In the days before we moved, Jake was thoughtful enough to pull the trigger on something we’d been talking about for a long time– making me a cat trap.

Setting the plans in motion.

“The only trap I really know how to make is a deadfall,” Jake mused, “but I guess we don’t want a crushed cat.”

Eager to snare or at least trick a neighborhood cat, I let my kitty-imagination take over, in place of the part of my brain usually reserved for cat safety.

Modeling his trap after the mouse box, Jake begins assembly.

The plan is, the cat goes in for some sardines, but gets stuck. Of course this is a good idea.

Naturally, every Jake Weller proto-type needs a name. Ugh.

Baiting the trap.

Jake very thoughtfully located the trap where we could easily watch it from our bedroom window. I was excited to think of a cat actually coming over to the sardines, slowly sniffing them, taking a tentative bite….but when I thought back on the montage of great and sometimes ugly cats that I’d come to know on Passmore Crescent, I began to worry about trapping them in a box, especially overnight. And so, though it made Ken laugh at me when he heard, the cat trap turned into more of an open cardboard box full of sardines that the flies would come to enjoy.

But cats came as well! We just didn’t trap them. They were secrets.

Jake and I discussed that for me, perhaps the best cat trap of all is one where I put out a bowl of fish and just sit really quietly next to it or maybe the bowl of fish is in my lap and the I can just pet the cats all day.

No cats in this trap.

Being-thoughtful-about-cats-ness must run in the family. Jake’s Baltimore-dwelling, more awesome than I thought was possible, law-loving, cool-earring-wearing sister sent this gem in yesterday. I’m not quite sure what to call it, but all I know is that I like what I see.

Entitled, "awwww yeah".

The end. FOR NOW.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Settin’ out dem cat trapz.

  1. Jonny Cat says:

    Hey yo,
    Well done using Hamish Keith’s face for the cat trap plans!
    Should be fine to crash at ours when you return to NZ. Will just check with the missuz (as they say in Nieuw Zeeland, even in cases like mine wherein we are not even wed) and let you know asap. Email me at gilbert_necessary@yahoo.co.nz or text on 021 052 9883. Have fun in Oz and don’t hug the koalas; in fact don’t even look too close at them because actually? they have really creepy eyes.
    Also, I realise that using the name ‘Jonny Cat’ makes me a kitty litter, but there you go.

  2. Pingback: What I Was Up To | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

