Animal Walk!

[Sighting: Paddington, Brisbane, AUS]

I will continue to pine for the period of time I have spent more regularly cat blogging, a ritual that has, I admit with embarrassment, come to center each of my days. But, let’s not waste time lamenting the lack of the internets. I am in a tropical wonderland living in a holiday house with my formerly-bearded companion, visiting two of my dearest friends [missing with significance and hiliarty two others], preparing to celebrate our first Christmas outside of the Northern Hemisphere.

And they have cats here.

Perhaps because it is so hot, perhaps because Australian cats are not entirely of a sweet disposition….but many of the kitties I encountered on my first days here looked grumpy, at best.

Lucky for me, on a recent night walking back from Jade’s, a night that including many thrilling nature sightings including BOTH types of possums, an emerald tree frog, and a frog-mouthed bird, we also saw TWO different kitties.

The first was shy.

But the second was lovable in the manner of all cats who are good, the kind that come up to you and crawl all over you and show you their bellies and say to you with their slanty and highly-expressive eyes, “Yes, yes, it’s you, I know you have a cat blog, I can smell your feline-friendliness, now please, pleeeeeeeeease make me famous on the internet.”

And so I did. Photo credit, Jake Weller.

This cat, true to its kind, was also the type to follow you part of the way home, the kind you’re always expecting will get you in trouble with what you expect must  be its doting owners.

As you might have guessed, this cat sighting made me fill tremendously with glee. That’s always when that awful and overly-happy smile comes out.

 

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Animal Walk!

  1. That last picture

    the eyes

    the smile

    you CRAZY

Leave a Reply

