Merry Merry Cat-mas.

Hello, and welcome to a very-special Christmas-on-the-other-side-of-the-world edition of zee Cat Blog.

As I write from my current position, not nestled in my childhood bedroom with my preternaturally awesome brother and saucy sister as I have traditionally been on this date in history, but in Jade Williamson’s parents’ Brisbane home, I feel that I must take this opportunity to remind my current company of how happy I am to be here, and to remind my beloved family and friends, those people who have seen the toast crumbs on my face and have embraced me regardless (or, if you’re Quinn, because of) that I miss them dearly, and that I can’t wait to be home.

Okay. Long sentence. Onto the cats.

Aside from the live cats we’ve encountered since beginning our vacation at the bottom of the world, I must note that Jake and I have come across many, many….less live cats. Not dead cats, of course, that would make this the Animal Attic. No, I’m talking about inanimate cats. Behold.

We saw this at Target whilst shopping for bean bag chairs with Libby Cross. I demanded that Jake purchase this for me immediately. All Americans left the store empty handed.

Within five minutes’ leisurely stroll from our Holiday Home, one comes across The Black Cat Book Shop and Café. Cats + books + coffee? What’s a girl to do? (lip bite.)

Street art? Great. Street art about cats?? Even better.

In my extensive vintage and second-hand perusals of Australia, I have come across many kitties. There are plastic cats….

…wooden cats….

And my personal favorite. In my “On Bearica” section, I mention that Jake is a “premium co-cat finder”. I wrote that because of situations like this. His discerning eye picked this out of a whole rack of gaudily-printed clothing. What a find! (The whole thing is patterned like this. And it’s silky. Like jammies.) My only regret is that it is over $125. Obviously Australians know the worth of such treasures. I suspect that I will not be receiving this for Christmas.

However, all of this is just child’s play. For the true Christmas experience, please appreciate Cece’s recent cat blog contribution: http://www.notactualsize.co.uk/xmas10/slideshow.html

For the religious in all of us.

Happy Christmas to all, I miss you much. xoxo.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Merry Cat-mas.

  1. JoAnn says:

    Missing you too, but not those cats.

Leave a Reply

