Tying Up Those Loose Ends

I write to you from the precipice of our departure from Z-town. From here it’s back to the Motherland! God Bless America. Jake and I have been filling our days in what can be described as a gluttonous and leisurely fashion. Catching up with friends and good-byeing, getting Stuff done, finishing up some (seriously) last minute Christmas shopping, and waving to our favorite establishments along the way. This translates to eating/drinking a lot. But, always loyal to my cat-community, I been keeping up with the felines.

Please enjoy, this might be the last blog until I get to Huntingdon where I will spend my days baking bread with Quinn Daly, watching Law & Order in the middle of the day while wearing my House Sweater and over-drinking to stave off the sadness of joblessness and also the cold.

Also I will be stalking cats.

Here are some from the last days in New Zealand.

[sighting: Riverton, NZ]

Hitching to Tuatapere, Jake took thumb duty for a moment as I scurried over to this guy eating his lunch in the nearby grass. I had to be extra-sneaky because his owner was quite close. But, life on the road will really teach you some tricks. And so I present to you these photos.

[sighting: Oamaru, NZ]

After finishing our epic hike in the Fiordlands, Jake and I caught a ride as far as Oamaru with a fellow hiker, a respectable gent, a dentist. Because it was nearly 1:00 am by the time we made it to Oamaru (about 90 minutes’ drive from Dunedin), our rugged dentist friend very kindly allowed us to spend the night. The following morning, groggily we stepped out onto the front porch and found this fellow!

Hastily grabbing my camera and rushing over to my find, I explained, “Oh, it’s okay, I have a cat blog.”

Back in Dunedin we found a familiar piece of graffiti, and with very little effort, this little kitty was eating some din din.

composition with painted-on kitty and Jake and Erica’s shadows

I feel like this fellow really sums up my feelings of the whole New Zealand experience. Tickled. Simply delighted.

But, don’t feel left out, America! Because THIS GIRL’S coming back to hang out with you and your cats and she’ll kiss you all over your pretty little faces and say, “I’m sorry baby, I won’t ever go away again”. Because I love you that much. We can all have sleepovers and everything.

Photo credit David Brian Stalfa—here is me and the biggest cat and the biggest smile ever because, perhaps, I am wearing the best cat dress ever. PARTY IN THE USA.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tying Up Those Loose Ends

  1. Sarah says:

    P.S. – if you come here, I will show you a cat bigger than Dave’s. Pictures tomorrow. He belongs to one of the other teachers here. Please come visit! Bring Quinn Daly!
    You can have the run of the kitchen while I am at work, bake bread, and at night we will drink and take walks and tell cowboy stories. We will take you to our dive bar, and you can play with our new puppy! With love and thankfulness, Camera Coon

    • bearicaquinn says:

      I want to see this big cat.

      If all goes well, Jake and I are planning a westward expansion to happen sometime July-ish. This is a vague plan currently. I will keep you updated!!

Leave a Reply

