Cat Kitsch Episode 1: The Cat Bowl

Many people are aware of the gobs of cat objects I’ve begun collecting. (No person is more keenly aware of this than one browbeaten Jacob Weller.) Since initiating the move from New Zealand back to Central Pennsylvania, via Maryland and the Poconos, I’ve become re-appreciative of these inanimate friends.

And so, here begins what will become a series of reviews of my favorite kitty items. It should be difficult to keep up; they seem to be snowballing….

The Cat Bowl

Last summer, deep in the throes of the hot hot heat and the latent sadness that comes from the temporary absence of one’s bearded companion, Suzanne and Dave and I went to State College, for Arts Fest. After a day spent browsing the delightful wares on display and an afternoon spent drinking beer in the basement at Zeno’s, I came across a potter’s booth, and saw this bowl. It was more money than I usually spend on any variety of homeware ($0.50 – $1.00), but at the time I was spending my evenings slinging beer and serving delicious foods to the citizens of Huntingdon, and so I knew I could take a hit. And it was hot, and my thoughts were a little fuzzy, and my heart was a little lonesome, and I exclaimed, “I need to do something for myself!”

And so I purchased this bowl, this delightful soul-warming bowl. It kept me company all summer and I knew there would be a time when I’d be in my new apartment, reunited with my co-cat-finder, entertaining our friends and drinking tea to stave off the cold, and we could bring out my cat bowl to serve a delicious vegetarian salad on a sleepy Sunday afternoon in the not-so-distant future.

And I was correct.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cat Kitsch Episode 1: The Cat Bowl

  1. Clair says:

    Just stumbled upon your cat obsession (will give you details in an imminent email about my cat) and love it. I also love this cat bowl.

    Please know that you are supported by many closeted cat-ladies.

Leave a Reply

