Told You So

Just so you know, Huntingdon is the cat capital of America. I’ve stated this before. I’ll stand by this assertion again. I have for many moons dreamed of staging a dramatic, sweeping Huntingdon cat photography project which might result in the publishing of a large and glossy book which would subsequently win the hearts and minds of the nation. Art Institutions, nodding in agreement, would waive the need for me to actually obtain my M.F.A. the old-fashioned way, and I could live in a converted warehouse on Allegheny Street forever with my ninety-seven cats and enormous camera collection forever.

In the meantime, I have started this blog.

Here are some Huntingdon treasures, gathered just for you, in the first days back.

Seen outside the Huntingdon Community Center, on 5th Street. My only regret is this wasn’t a Sebring. (Sorry Quinn/Christina.)

**editor’s note: It has come to my attention that this IS a Sebring. I apologize for any confusion.

[sighting: Washington Street, Huntingdon, PA]

On a quiet and contemplative snowy-day walk, Jake and I discovered this window kitty. It was breathing and this is how we knew it wasn’t dead. (Science!) It did, however, remain very still for the entirety of the time we spent nosing around it, taking one-hundred pictures and saying, “Who’s a pretty kitty? Where’s your face, kitty? Kitty, are you dead?” This kitty also had a curiously bare patch on its haunch (see above). I felt sad for it.

Huntingdon has a decided surplus of stray cats as well. (I have adopted two of these in past years, with a middling level of success.) They are always, always looking for homes. Check out the humane society website if you’ve got room in that cold, cold heart of yours.

Over and out.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Told You So

  1. Micah says:

    Dear Ms. Quinn,

    I am a great fan of your blog. In all my long life I have lived without a cat for only two weeks. My earliest memories are of cats my mother kept when she married my father. I was in diapers.

    Many cats have chosen me, all but two from the street, and even those two chose me rather than the oposite. I have cause to be away from them rather often and it makes me sad from time to time. One of them has been with me longer than I have been with my beloved wife; a rather substantial amount of time (he jumped into my car).

    I discovered your blog olny recently on the advice of a dear friend. I’ve relish every line. It has brought even more joy to my life.

    I’m not sure how to express this to you. Perhaps I am attemping to express it to the wrong person. I have typed several paragraphs and esased them. I do not wish to offend. Cover your ears. This may be rather brisk. I appologize, but it would be dishonerable and unfair of me to continue loving your blog without honesty.

    Ther is no legitimate excuse not to rescue a cat. They are not a medium for creative outlet however brilliant the result may be. They are creatures in need.

    They need you, not the wicked mercies of the streets. Nor the negligence of selfish college students whom will view them as a novelty. They require a warm bed and some hot broth once in a while. Just like us.

    Erica, if you cannot rescue a stray, take it to the Humane Society, not just it’s picture. I will help you in any way I can.
    M.

    • bearicaquinn says:

      Micah,

      I’ve heard about you from Suzanne and I’m sincerely honored that you have come to enjoy my blog. It brings me great joy to write it, and is rather embarrassingly fairly central to my daily activity. It’s really encouraging and totally rad to get feedback, especially from someone I don’t even know.

      If the point you raise has been made unclear by my writing in anyway, I’d like to take this moment to un-unclear it– the only stray cats I’ve come across in my time (ones that were honestly strays, not just house cats with collars, etc) I have adopted myself. The first I could not keep because I was leaving the country, so my dear friend took him in. The second, Fred Durst (who has been made blog-famous) just would not be kept, and chose a life on the streets, rather forcibly so. (That said, I did cure his grievous neck wound, get him shots, offer him a safe place to recover, feed him treats, etc.)

      All the cats I have blogged about, to my knowledge, have homes and owners and are well taken care of. I am happy to feed cats, happy to take care of them, happy to take them to the vet, and happy to make sure they ultimately get to where they are going. I would never, never turn a cat away, or ignore it if I thought it was in a dangerous situation. (There was one cat I met over the summer who I let stay with me and fed it. I never adopted it, but it pretty much just lived in our apartment building on various levels and it was always clean and well-fed.) I’m not sure to which cat you were referring when you said that there is no excuse not to rescue a cat, because the cat in this particular post was behind glass, in the window of someone’s home. (Though perhaps I will be rebuked by the police soon because I have been photographing the windows of peoples’ homes fairly closely these days…)

      Don’t worry. I’m looking out for these guys too. I am a believer in the Humane Society and even took a lost bird these once. That said, it is good to know, or at least to be reminded that there are others out there who have a vested interest in animal welfare. The Huntingdon Humane Society is particularly overrun with cats and it’s at a point where they need people who are willing to adopt– they’re famously, consistently, at capacity. This is why I mentioned it in my post, though perhaps I should have reminded the general public that they should not adopt a cat unless they’re able to make a good, stable, safe home for it, unless they can put food on the table and spend time with it every day and love it to tiny bits. (This is why I don’t have a cat of my own right now.)

      Thank you for your feedback, and I hope you keep reading– it’s good to know there are so many warm souls out there.

      With Great Sincerity,
      Erica

      • Micah says:

        Dear Ms. Quinn,

        I am humbled by your response, and impressed at the swiftness and eloquence of it.

        My definition of a cat in a dangerous situation is one that in any possible way may come in contact with a moving vehiclel, or persons whom wish it harm for thier own pleasure. There are many more of the later than you or I might like to think about. These animals are in danger.

        You did what you could for Fred. I get that.

        Please don’t assume that I am refering to any specific cat when I say there is no exscuse. I am refering to all of them.

        When I was nineteen I was chosen by group of cats. I brought them food from the store when I could, food from work when I couldn’t. They hunted when they had to. They used a box of dirt for a litter box. We were poor. They were safe.

        They were safe.

        Malechi died of stroke. Sebastion died of cancer. Baghera is still with me, thank the gods.. There are many others.

        I fear I have been unkind to you. I do not mean to belittle the joy that you bring t many, many people, especially to me. I have many cat stories. Most of mine are sad and have no place in an environment that celebrates the free life of these creatures.

        But I just thought I should mention it. And I honestly believe there is no good excuse not to rescue a cat.
        M.

Leave a Reply

