4:55 am

Last night, in preparation for a great and wonderful journey, I slept on Suzanne and Dave’s couch, instead of in the room I share with my bearded companion by the railroad, beneath the wooly blankets that adorn our Tuten-gift bed. In slumber party mode, we all ate pizza and became increasingly enthusiastic about awakening before dawn. (Well, well before dawn.)

And Suzanne had cat jammies…

And I had some on too.

And when I curled up on the couch against my computer (this one upon which I type right now) to watch some pre-sleep Law & Order (Mariska!), I had company.

Moxie! Look at that little meow face.

And so I wasn’t too lonely, those cold, dark miles away from my usual house and my windowsill of cat trinkets and friendly wolf-toothed home-partner. I had a cat at my feet to keep me warm, or at least to startle me when I kicked too aggressively. And I knew there was another cat somewhere in the inky darkness of that bungalow situated upon the loveliest of lanes. And my friends were snoozing quietly in the next room and in the morning there would be thermos coffee and Eggo waffles and that then we would be off.

In transit again.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

