Like Godmother, Like Goddaughter

Hello everyone, here is Cioci Tina. (and Poochcat and myself.)

Cioci Tina, wonderful woman and godmother of mine, is a true cat lady. She is, in all probabability, the origin of my own inclination. Cioci Tina’s #1 most prominent characteristic her hardcore-ness. (#3 is her love of dessert.) You can assume that any interest she might have is thoroughly executed. Last year for my birthday she bought me jangly cat earrings. I don’t know how much clearer I can make this point.

Cioci Tina, long time listener, second time caller, writes about her “boys”, Smokey and Rider.

Smokey (obviously, the grey one) is an elegant gent with 4 perfectly white paws.  I resuced him from the SPCA 5 years ago.  His estimated age at that time was 4 yrs old. Smokey is not a lap kitty but he does love to have his ears scratched he LOVES  to drink water from a running faucet.  He will follow ANYONE into the bathroom and hop up to the sink and wait for you to turn on the water for him.  (This must have been taught to him by his original owner.) If he doesn’t make it to the bathroom before you, he will wait outside the bathroom door and pounce into the room just as soon as the door is opened! 

Needless to say, he has startled many a house guest. (I try to pre-warn people, but sometimes I forget.) 

Rider (the orange kitty) was found on one of my Sunday bike rides.  We were a small group that day, just six of us, riding in an industrial area of the city.  No apartments or houses were in sight and this kitty pops up out of a sewer drain as we ride by.  Of course, I had to stop and so did my fellow riders.  We are all “animal people” and our hearts went out to this tiny stray kitty in the middle of nowhere. ( Someone must have dumped him.) This little kitty weighing all of about 3 pounds had the courage to come up to a gorup of six people wearing scary helmets with big scary bikes.  He gobbled down a fig newton I had in my bike pack and settled himself in my firend’s arms in just a matter of seconds. 

Next thing I knew one of the riders was calling his wife to come pick up the kitty, another rider named the kitty “Rider”, and another rider decided I needed another cat. ( Everyone else’s house was pet full.)  And as they say the rest is history.

Hope this gives you enough fodder for you blog, which I still continue to monitor.

COUCH KITTIES

Cioci Tina, you are a great lady. I am honored to be related to such a mainstay of cat culture. You are the pillar of our community.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like Godmother, Like Goddaughter

  1. Pingback: Taking comfort in the receipt of small things, comfort objects. | welltailoredsuit

  2. Pingback: Wild, Catted-Up Friday Night | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

