What I Did Today

Some days you are squishy on the inside. You wake up, drink your coffee, go to your fairly underwhelming job, and wear your shiny smile.

On the way home, you run some errands.

If you are me, your errands involve heavy traffic to the tea store and the bead shop. This is a story about that.

First thing’s first. Mail the letters. Two of them, on the good stationary, condolences, art stamps, tiny handwriting. The box is down the block and I struggle against my knitting, the empty cardboard box that I snagged from work (because you never do know when you’ll need one), and my floppy mittens. Okay. Letters mailed. Check. Continue straight, cross the street, skip the puddles, turn right to enter into Sweet Annie’s delightful domain. I need some tea…but not that bad. No, I go because I know THIS GUY is there, waiting for me.

ahhhhhhhhhhh

Sweet Annie’s has for many years been a favorite haunt of mine, not only because it is the local source for teas, herbs, fancy soaps and fine knitwear, but also because it is the very definition of a cat haven. A few years ago, the day after I gave the love-of-my-life-cat away to my dear friend, I went into this store to buy some variety of comfort material and this cat (or, perhaps another– it seems like the kind of place where they just congregate and potentially live in the furniture) scampered over to me and Annie herself said “You can tell that you’re a cat person” and I about cried.

Onto the bead store! Known as The Foxy Grape. Obviously, my errands take me here. Often.

The Foxy Grape is the shop formerly known as Vintage Art Glass. When we came back from New Zealand I was sad to see that Vintage Art Glass’ storefront was bare. LUCKY FOR ME, they just changed names, added beads to their stock, moved just down the block from our apartment, and hired this fine fellow:

BOOOSH

I hadn’t necessarily gone into The Foxy Grape to buy anything, but after spending about fifteen minutes on the floor touching this cat (who, by the way, cannot meow, so he just kind of hiss/croaks and sticks out his tongue with squishyfaced madness) and making happy noises, I felt obligated to. Also I felt weird.

And, to top off my afternoon of rainbows and sunshine and chocolate milkshakes, I crossed the street and saw this fellow before heading home.

I have lived in Huntingdon for 4.5 years and there has NEVER not been a cat in this window. NEVER.

Baby, it’s not so bad.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Did Today

  1. Roy says:

    BOOSH, like it.

  2. Denise says:

    So lovely, your errands are like stepping stone kitties. I wanted to let you know that Tsi Shi’s pupils are now both the same size. Dodged a bullet again. Hmm, wonder which life we’re on now? Which brings to mind a childhood favorite- Have you seen the 9 Lives of Thomasina? You must!
    xo Denise

  3. Pingback: Thrill-Fest 2011: Some Cats in the Near Vicinity of our Apartment | welltailoredsuit

  4. Pingback: All These Cats be Flockin’ Towards Me | welltailoredsuit

  5. Pingback: The Life of a Cat Maiden | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

