A Tale of Two Angels

#1. Last summer, while volunteering at friends’ Farmers’ Market booth (how wholesome!), I met My Animal Angel.

He was an odd man, smallish, crazy-looking, wearing his Vietnam War vets’ cap adorned with various pins and adornments, face just barely scruffy, moving silently, slowly through the tables of organic basil and bulk tomatoes, holding in his cupped hands…A PUG PUPPY. I screamed. I SCREAMED. It was too much to handle. It was the smallest thing I had ever seen.

Ever.

The man, wordless, just smiled at the direction of my screams and came immediately over to me, placing the tiny snuffly monster in my hands. I continued screaming. I was happy. I was pleased. I was so pleased. Eventually, after many tense moments, I calmed down. This brief interlude was interrupted when I was forced to watch the tiny pug crawl through grass THAT WAS JUST BARELY TOO BIG FOR HIM. I began screaming again.

Flash forward. Saturday morning, last week, on the way to work. I was a block away (and I only live a 1.5 blocks away from work, so I was pretty close to begin with), late, spilling coffee all over my coat, hair in my eyes because I can’t quite afford to get it cut yet, etc and so forth, and then I saw THIS GUY.

[sighting: 5th Street, Huntingdon, PA]

With the pious bells of 10 o’clock tolling in my ear, I chose to ignore them, to instead photograph my new window friend. “Ooooh, pretty kitty, good morning kitty, aren’t you beauuuuuutiful?”

This went on for a quite awhile.

Once I had finished, I bid farewell to the cat and turned around, into the icy February wind that blew down 5th street, funneling through the buildings. That’s when I saw him. Him.  My Animal Angel. He had been standing directly behind me the whole time. The benevolent smile, the look of all-knowing, the friendly head nod…it was like being touched by god.

#2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY KRISTIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She’s at least a literary angel. She also likes knitting and being totally rad. And editing Call & Response. AND IT’S HER BIRTHDAY! And she sent me this, which earns some serious cat blog cred.

Spirituality reaches me in numerous ways.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Two Angels

  1. Kristin says:

    Have I mentioned before that I think we are soulmates?

    Thank you for the awesome birthday shout out. You are the best!

Leave a Reply

