In the Last Days of Winter

Today is an effervescently happy day, indicating that spring is coming, the air will start smelling like the river, with the windows open we’ll soon be able to hear the trains even louder, and it’s probably about time to buy my annual pair of pants. That said, I thought I’d post these photos from a recent walk before they begin to look too dated– that knit cap won’t be worn for too much longer! (Who are we kidding, it definitely will. ;.) )

[sighting: 5th Street, Huntingdon, PA]

It all began innocently– just a simple walk, one block over and several up the hill, towards the flag pole and the piney woods beyond. On the way I noticed many delightful adornments I hadn’t noticed before, even though I’ve lived here for almost five years. Like I said, Huntingdon is FULL of surprises.

Ghostly!

It took a long time for me to realize that this WASN'T a real cat. For this I was mocked.

Then, however, we came into contact with The Real Deal. This Guy.

I immediately scampered over to say a breathless hello to this porchiest of porch cats. However, the dog locked in the backyard began snarling furiously, which made my mustachioed and bearded companions>>

<< shout, “It’s a trap!”

Startled, confused, excited, and nervous, I took a series of macro-shots of my new kitty friend.

Ultimately, the dog calmed down and Mr. Daly took this one of me. Later, at home, transferring these photos to my computer, Jake looked at the following image and said, “My god, you look crazy.”

I prefer the term “passionate”.

Anyway, to conclude this cat blog on this loveliest of afternoons/traditional Irish holidays, I will share with you a photo taken by the ultra-popular Mike Shea. Thank you to that fine gent for lending it here!

(The original Money Cat. )

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings!, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

