With Puke-pologies

I fell too.

After nearly a week had passed since the last of us began vomming literally as soon as any solid/liquid touched the deepest depths of our bellies, I thought I was in the clear. I WAS WRONG.

So now I am spending much time curled in a ball on the couch watching every Arrested Development and drinking weak Gatorade and vegetable broth administered by my kind nurse, Jake. (He is also my kind bike mechanic and has been working on some improvements to Red Bike to cheer me up/make me more awesome.)

Jake + Red Bike 4everrrrrrrr xoxoxoxoxx

If I was feeling better, and if I didn’t have such a weird and unfavorable working schedule, I would be back in the great North East with these people, among others.

Jackie O and John Wayne, aka Babci and Uncle Bill-- photo credit, J.B.

Aunt JoAnn, faithfully stationed back in the ancestral home, has been writing heartfelt updates of their visit, taking some weight off my dear Momcat’s shoulders, and sending along cat information, even though she doesn’t really like cats at all. What an Auntie!

First, she sent me a slideshow entitled, Was ist eine Nano-Sekunde? “What a nano-second really looks like,” she explained, “of course it contains CATS!!!!” Here are some selections.

(PS: I wish we had a cat. AKA A FLYING CAT.)

The second bit of information was sent in an email entitled, “That Damn Cat Blog”. The body read, “I don’t think I sent this yet. They’re everywhere I look.”

Cat Rock Stars

I wish I was more tech-savvy so you could see with your very own eyes, on this blog, this beautiful newspaper article, but I can’t make that happen so I’ll just describe it and trust that you’ll click on the above link. PLEASE do yourself a favor.

It’s a piece from the Arts section of a New Orleanian newspaper entitled, “IN PURRR-SON– The Acro-Cats hope to climb, jump, and swat their way into New Orleanian Hearts”. Apparently, what I’ve always hoped existed actually does, and in my favorite city! The article describes this event as “a circus show starring housecats and featuring a feline-fronted band”. HOW COULD YOU GO WRONG??

"Tuna jumps a hurdle, but it is her cowbell playing that really sets the audience on fire during the Acro-Cats Show which premieres this weekend in New Orleans."

One time Dave, owner of The Biggest Cat in the World and contributor to our all-star Early Edition Cat post, had me to visit in Pittsburgh.

I said, “What do you want to do tomorrow?”
He replied, “We can go to the cat circus, if you’d like,”
I squealed, “There’s a cat circus?!?!?”
He replied, “No.”

BOOSH. Who wants to go to New Orleans IMMEDIATELY??

So, Auntie Jo (and Uncle Bill, Babci, Dziadzi, Momcat, Dad, Erin, JQ, Netty, and Cally)– I wish we could be with you now, and perhaps we’ve never wished as  keenly to be home more. But these cats are wonderful offerings, and we are thinking of you, and missing you all, always. Sending good thoughts. Love from, Erica and Jake

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With Puke-pologies

  1. Christie says:

    How dare you tease her like that, Dave??

    Feel better, dear.

  2. bearicaquinn says:

    Thank you! I just ate a piece of toast! Thus begins the road to recovery. (Of course, now I am extremely sleepy and uncomfortably full.)

Leave a Reply

