Thrill-Fest 2011: Some Cats in the Near Vicinity of our Apartment

I write to you from a short, somber, heartfelt visit to my parents’ house in the north-easterly part of the state, and naturally I’m feeling some twinges for all the graces of our block back home in Huntingdon– the railroad-side windows, the collection of eclectic and somewhat antiquated bicycles>>

the paint flecks on the floor from our family-heirloom table which demand continual sweeping…and the cats who lurk about as well. Here are two of our kitty-cat-neighbors, of reasonable note.

In order of appearance.

 

Cat by the Train Tracks
[sighting: train tracks off Allegheny St. between 2nd and 3rd, Huntingdon, PA]

On one of our evening walks, scavenging for scrap wood and other niceties in the junk heap behind behind the train-side hardware store, Jake and I noticed some slinking movement and we took the picture featured below.

I greeted the feline with my usual salutations, “Heyyyyy pretty kitty, oh hi, hello, how aaaaare you?”

Despite my thoroughly trustworthy intonations and Jake’s sharp eyes, this railroad/junkyard kitty skittered away into the inky night, leaving me with only a vague sense of regret, and still no material to make window boxes! Dem cats is fast heartbreakerz.
Yet Another Window Cat: So Bashful, So Beautiful
[sighting: Penn Street, Huntingdon, PA]

I have done much to chronicle the lives of window cats in Huntingdon….here is a notable addition.

I can’t imagine how I could have missed this guy! He lives in a window on my well-traveled stomping path, one I’d been traipsing long before I ever formed the sad-girl-seed in my fuzzy mind grapes to create this beloved blog. Plus, it’s across the street from The Foxy Grape…how could you go wrong? (And how could I have overlooked this prime, prime specimen??)

He was bashful, head bowed, nervous.

“Miiaaaaaaao pretty kitty, ooooh you are so beautiful!”

Sometimes all you need is to instill a little bit of confidence.

Here is some information. I like cats. I additionally like woolly sweaters and distinguished beards and I have those things, both of them, here with me now. I also have a brother and a sister and a Momcat and a Dad and a round-cat and a silly black dog and tomorrow there will be family arriving in bountiful scores. I pull all these things close to me, as I hope you can pull this blog close to you. Snuggle up.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrill-Fest 2011: Some Cats in the Near Vicinity of our Apartment

  1. Pingback: All These Cats be Flockin’ Towards Me | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

