As a Means of Explanation

You might have noticed, dear readers, that I missed a few posts over the weekend. To clear up this leave of absence taken without warning, I offer these to photographs to you. I didn’t mean to mess around on you, so just know that I was spending my time as I always do– with the felines.

Jake and I drove back to White Haven, to celebrate the coming of The Easter Rat with the fancy fancy Quinn family. Legit.

And Cally was there!

My parents are ripping out their kitchen and putting in a shinier repacement. Upon removal of the floor, Cally discovered several rat holes-- she remained glued to this spot for the entirety of Friday evening.

Scenes from my second-place Scrabble game.

Garoowwwwwwwl!

Also, on Saturday morning we were lucky enough to be greeted by the ubiquitous mother of the wild cat family that’s taken residence, according to JQ, “somewhere within a 1.5 mile radius” of our family’s home.

Mama Cat was out for rotisserie chicken trash, but helpful cleaner JQ was quick on the case. Mama ain’t no fool.

And like that, she was gone.

Later that morning, we prepared for Easter by dyeing most of our dozen eggs to resemble the rats my dad likes so much…but there was plenty of time for kitties as well!

JQ made this one, in honor of my one true love(s).

Then, an egg from Erin, the other Poochcat.

...and one for Momcat.

Lately, I’m finding kitties each which way I turn, and at the homestead life was no different. Driving back to our life of bicycles and forced frugality in Huntingdon Easter afternoon, we found ourselves elated, peaceful, grateful for small things, running from thunderstorms…

…and with cats on the brain.

(Perhaps not so much for Jake.)

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As a Means of Explanation

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    Cally! My baby is a Calico too. I was at the Hong Kong SPCA looking for a quiet boring little window sill cat, but I found Picasso instead. That was 11 years and four nations ago. She’s watching me type this. Sometimes she helps.

  2. bearicaquinn says:

    Do Chinese cats know how to speak Chinese?

Leave a Reply

