Taking comfort in the receipt of small things, comfort objects.

Here are some of my favorite, recent comfort objects.

 

The other day, mail from the illustrious Coon family came to see me here in Huntingdon! Here is the card that accompanied the much-loved birthday package. Jake found it, hours later, where I had stuck it to the fridge. Disgusted, he covered this decadent kitty’s face with one of the Hawaiian shirt magnets Roy’s parents gave me.

 

(This kitty knows how to party, sincerely.)

As if the card wasn’t enough, just take a look at what came with it>>

 

Cats?? A book of postcards?? What else could a smushy sad cat girl with a penchant for old fashioned mail and an abiding love of stamps ask for?

I immediately recognized these postcards– Suzanne and Dave sent me one when I had just moved to New Zealand, last fall. It lived out its life on my desk at The Dunedin Public Art Gallery; it then moved to Huntingdon with me in a crinkled envelope, along with a stack of Ken’s most horrible drawings. It currently resides on our fridge, where many other items of intrigue are placed– an adorable photo of Baby Coops, a fancy, inky letter from Quinn that contains the word “BEEJ”, a strange ad of a man and boy taken out of context from our 1980 Playboy, my Sylvia Plath magnet, a test strip of a photo I took of Ken and Jake from before I’d begun kissing the latter– the day he gave me a tube of chapstick and I vowed to make him my own… etc, etc.

The postcard upon which the Coons (Camera, puppy, otherwise) chose to write a message reminds me a great deal of the actions most popular with the kitty who moved out yesterday…it now has gained a place of importance on our radiator shelf (as long as we’re itemizing, the radiator shelf also features a large, ancient tinted photograph in a gilded frame that Iggs gave me for Christmas, a photo of Cecil, Yeager, Michael and Roy from a shoot I did in Giant somewhere around 2007, the wooden clippy owl the guy from work made for me, my ever-growing collection of old and strange photographs including the one where the one guy who is Ryan Hamilton is casually holding a gun to the other guy who is Quinn Daly’s head, etc.)

Another kitty who has recently taken the stage– the fridge– is this one, the one Cioci Tina sent. (She is truly my cat-loving godmother.)

 

And finally, a certain treasure. From the Madre de Jake– a silver-plated cat RING HOLDER!!!

(Please note its handy properties.)

She finagled it out of the display case of a California thrift store and it has proudly moved to its current place of prestige on my jewelry table in Huntingdon, PA. At this point in time I only have one ring [pictured], but as far as I’m concerned, this is my green light to find more! (Jake’s one-in-one-out policy be damned.) There was one truly bedazzled ring I had my eye on last summer but I eventually mailed it as a birthday gift to Malaika because Jake doesn’t like when I hit him with my ring hand and that ring would have hurt.

Jake’s wunderbar mother also sent along the links to an organization called Free Kibble…here’s a link to the cat version (pertinent to the Dogg Blog, there is a dog version as well).

A cause close to my own heart, the two Free Kibble sites mix the allure of both trivia questions and charity to animal shelters! For each daily question answered, Free Kibble donates ten pieces of food to various animal shelters across the country— that has a way of adding up. Conveniently you can sign up for email reminders as well…think of how many pieces you can give to those sweet animals! Madre writes, “I do this daily- both cats and dogs. [It is] quick and provides a service to our favorite felines and dogs alike. Do it too. In fact, put it on your fabulous blog and get everyone else to do it too!”

Check.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking comfort in the receipt of small things, comfort objects.

  1. Ross Wolfe says:

    Well done. I know you think I’m an asshole, but I also love cats.

Leave a Reply

