Another Edition of the Much-Beloved UK Cat Report!

From Matt, for you. 

Hello from Cat-Town, UK.  I’ve been serving and living in fear of (some would call it ‘cat-sitting’) the Mighty Gus Cat—Cat of Cats (see above)—for a few desolate days along Hadrian’s Wall and look at all these fantastic Cat Blog updates!  Good work cat-contributors; hats off to Erica!  And congrats to the quality of your work!  Alas, it seems that every day I don’t update and/or fine-tune my Cat Blog submissions I’m pre-empted by similar subject matter as I’ve been working on.  I can’t keep up.  Here is what I’ve found and/or been working on that’s already featured/been hinted at in the Cat Blog (I’m afraid that this is in its unfinished and/or rushed form):

To complement the piece on Cooper, here is a bit on the tri-pedal feline photographer Nancy Bean and an exhibition in the wonderful little town of Arles, France of the pictures she’s taken:

 

To add to the piece on Meowmorphosis: although I am definitely not a fan of this publishing gimmick (Jane Slayre?  Couldn’t they do any better?  Maybe they read Wide Sargasso Sea and just felt inadequate and gave up trying), I must admit that Meowmorphosis does have limitless potential.  Well done for spotting this, Kristin from Mahopac, New York!  Here is a review from the Guardian:

Finally, well done to Quinn for this gem from the National Cathedral.  I’ve been slowly putting together a piece on cats depicted in sculpture and/or architecture.  Maybe I will finish it one day.  Until then, here is a taste in the form of a London statue of Samuel Johnson’s cat Hodge:

Incidentally, it is none other than our aforementioned friends at Quirk Books that helped me track down the name of Samuel Johnson’s cat, and thus the statue of said cat, through one of their publications:

And as way leads on to way, I stumbled across this tidbit on their website:

 

They must be doing something right.  Well done Quirk Books of Philadelphia, PA.  I hereby retract my previous comments pertaining to the quality of your literary mash-ups.  It was not my intention to disparage your fine people or products.  I’m going out to do some visa-related work now; I may be some time.  Until my next update from overseas, all the best,

Your faithful UK Cat Correspondent,

Matt


About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in UK Cat Report and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Edition of the Much-Beloved UK Cat Report!

  1. Pingback: The Criticizing Cat Mob Cartoons « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

Leave a Reply

