The Life of a Cat Maiden

Oh, hey there.

I have been busy with the task of uprooting and transplanting two lives and various herbs-and-spices seedlings. The pair of lives are moving to Brooklyn and the seedlings are coming too! My days have been difficult and exciting and nomadic and frenetic and I am making so many lists and eating SO MANY Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, one serving of which is apparently 20% of that day’s total fat intake. Whatever. I am definitely crazy-ing those calories off.

I feel like this! Sent in by everyone’s favorite Reverend, Quinn. (Side note: this is the cat equivalent of Kazia’s ADD Pug Mug.)

It should be noted that, though times-a-changin’, the cats find me still. They just know!!

Here are some.

 

[sighting: Penn Street, Huntingdon, PA]

I have blogged about the bigger of these two before— that is Latte, official mascot of The Foxy Grape, a nearby landmark, and total hot spot of yours truly. Aside from possessing a wide variety of want-objects, The Foxy Grape offers these kitties as window candy on my evening walks back and forth from work. Dear God, thank you for the absence of drapes!

 

The other night, on a journey to the store de groceries, we encountered this majestic/inspiring poster hung, rather inexplicably, in the sidewalk-front window of the presumed-condemned old railroad building…hmm.

I am not making any complaints, believe you me. I am just…entranced. Anything is possible! That is what this kitty is saying. Thank you. I am thusly encouraged.

 

This note was accompanied by some other words and also a pair of wild blackberry/mint/rhubarb muffins baked by Germany’s finest, the man whose grudgingly endearing behavior once provoked my mother into deeming him a “permanent fixture” in all family affairs. Roy.

 

Another sight seen en route to the grocery store! (Oh, the benefits of carlessness.)

GOD BLESS AMERICA! Cats are so patriotic these days! Oh me oh my.

 

This creature is not a cat but she is cool…Dinah Dog! (Or, as my Bearded Companion likes to call her, DNA Dog.) DNA lives across the hall and is a frequent, honored guest. She and I recently had a slumber party and she certainly gave me someone to talk to besides my burgeoning seedlings or thoroughly, pleasantly distracted bike bro. Her cheer is boundless, and is bookended with an overriding air of worry– she wants to be good, she wants to do well, she wants you to love her, she wants to eat your snacks, she wants to sleep in the bed…don’t we all?

Can we all just keep our heads and hearts together? This is me, trying.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Mixed Bag O'Cats, Sightings!, The Cats of Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

