Totes Buggin’, Brah.

What’s up, cat enthusiasts?

As I have mentioned, life has been crazy but awesome. A rash influx of friends, heat, fans that blow all day and all night, hot bodies covered scantily with gym clothes and hair matted on borrowed sleeping bags, kegs tapped through ancient coolers, smoky pool rooms, Percy the Pug, root beer floats for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, rooftop fireworks, iced coffee in the afternoon, sisters and brothers of the greatest of sorts brought close for one last hello here, a life throw into boxes, brains boiling, and chairs assembled in creek beds– the only air conditioning.

I am pretty much going off the rails here.

This morning, listening to me garble to my mom on the phone in a series of nervous zings, Jake decided that my packing music was much too sad and perhaps this was part of my problem. (Side note: once, ALL my music made me sad and I had to stop listening to it so Jake coaxed me into making a playlist called “Songs for Cheerfulness“. It is not very long.) He strode purposefully into this, the only room that gets the (stolen) internet, and changed the tunes from a playlist I made in a sort of desperation in the month he was in Ecuador and I was in my house alone for days on end with the yard filling up with snow, in the gap between friends’ visits with a cat who would later scorn me to a solid block of some Prince Buster, a cheerful reggae artist we first discovered on the awesome album “The Story of Jamaican Music” which I think either Dave or Matt gave to me; I can’t remember.

Then this song came on, and it was all right.

 

 

Everyone: I promise, I will write back to you, I will see you, and I will kiss your pretty little faces goodbye or hello or see you later, depending on where you live and what my plans are. I am trying to do several things at once, and you are all so important to me.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Totes Buggin’, Brah.

  1. Kristin says:

    I am listening to your Songs for Cheerfulness and also trying to pack. It is an uphill battle, my friend, but your playlist is indeed cheering!

Leave a Reply

