Fancy Clancy Cat

When I saw these photos on the facebook page of Jen, my former museum studies professor (who just so happens to be a totally rad art maiden), I knew this cat had to be blog fodder.

Meet Clancy!

One of the best parts about the kitty Jen and her husband, Kevin, adopted…IS THAT HE GOT TO BE THE PET OF THE WEEK!!

How fancy.

All this street cred aside, I thought it would be nice to have a little bit of Clancy on Clancy…here at zee cat blog we always hear owners talking about their cats– but what about cats talking about their owners?

Here’s what Clancy has to say.

Last summer two little girls adopted me; they carried me all over the neighborhood, dressed me up in outfits and played with me all the time. The rest of their family wasn’t so fond of cats though, so I often found myself outside. I was allowed to roam free in the neighborhood, and boy did I, visiting neighbors’ garages, getting chased up a tree by the dog next door, killing chipmunks and birds. It was a carefree life of much excitement; I could do what I wanted when I wanted. No rules! I was a wild child…

In early September I was hiding out in some bushes one day and I heard a lady ask who was there. I started meowing and came out of my hiding spot. She called to her husband and they came into the yard; I ran over to them, rubbed their legs, flopped down and rolled on my back for pets and heard them gush that I was the cutest thing they had ever seen. So I kept going to their house.  One day I visited them and I met their cat Felix. We hung out on opposite sides of their screen door; he told me what nice people they were (I think his wording was “total suckers”) and that I should keep coming back. The people had apparently recently lost their beloved cat, Pearl, to a long illness; and Felix (who had only lived there for a few weeks) told me he was dying too, though the people didn’t know it yet. So I kept paying them visits, every day, several times a day, sometimes sitting with Felix through the screen, sometimes even following the guy into the house when he’d go get the mail.

One day I kept visiting them over and over; they kept taking me home, but I’d get back outside and go there again, until they finally just let me stay in their garage after I sneaked in. Later that day Felix died.

So I lived in their garage for 4 days before being allowed to move into the house. Since the other family didn’t really want a cat, Jen & Kevin worked out a deal to adopt me (though the little girls still have visiting privileges and come play with me sometimes; I like to play, I totally go bananas). While roaming around and chasing butterflies was fun last summer, I’m really enjoying my spoiled life of leisure too, and living with Jen & Kevin is a pretty cool place to be.

Clancy, you handsome devil, you.

Many thanks to Jen, Kevin and Clancy for helping to make this blog a little more terrific each day.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

