A Thank You Note

Yesterday, I went downstairs to check my mail.

There was a letter!

“Who could it be from?” I wondered.

I wanted to find out so I looked at the front.

You're a fool to think I'd show you my full address.

Air mail! The most exciting variety.

I stepped out into the delicious morning, so full of light, and I walked past a parade that hadn’t yet begun. The day was just one in a recent string of the most perfect October weather of all time ever and, savoring this, I neglected to notice that my mail was post-marked Manchester.

“Who sent this delightful treasure!??”

There are so many overseas options. I have broken many hearts in my various travels.

I opened it.

Hey! I used to live near there!

Once I saw the postcard, I immediately knew who my mystery sender was.

OUR UK CAT CORRESPONDENT, MATT!!

(Then I remembered that I had recently given him our new address.)

I flipped the postcard over, and was greeted by a familiar hand. Matt writes,

….I’m including some feline paraphernalia. There’s a tasty brew made down the road from me called Old Tom and here are some stickers from it.

They claim to have been voted the world’s best ale. I like it, but it’s something of a luxury, really.

Then I noticed this booklet, also enclosed, and cackled wildly and all the people not yet watching the parade probably thought I was craaaaazy but they were all eating their weird tailgate food so whatever.

Matt continues,

The booklet is from the burial place of Plantagenet kings + queens– Richard the LIONhearted, for example. (see pages 1 + 12)

This is more like 15 + 16.

 

SO. That was basically the best mail I’ve received for the whole of human history. Matt, this blog post exists as a thank you note which I hope can also serve as the placeholder for a giant hug from Jake and I both. We miss you, and hope you are well. I appreciate you, and know you to be a true friend indeed.

SLAYER,

Bearica

 

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, UK Cat Report and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Thank You Note

  1. Pingback: UK Cat Report British Media Roundup: Zee Octubre Edition | welltailoredsuit

  2. Pingback: Too Legit to Quit | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

