More About Cats and Phone Calls, part the second.

Perhaps you know about my so-bad-it’s-good means of documenting cell phone media. Well, don’t for a moment think this doesn’t extend to text messages.

On a recent bus ride from Huntingdon I found myself bored, tired, and jammed against the shoulder of some Asian exchange-student guy who was really into video games and stepping on my stuff. Going through my old text messages in preparation to clean house, I discovered some recent examples that would function nicely as blog fodder. However, I knew they needed to be presented in their original form– quotations just wouldn’t do. I wanted you to see them in all their pixelated, glowy glory, the same way they looked to my tired and affectionate eyes that night as the bus hurtled somewhat terrifyingly through torrential rain, ignoring the bleeps of protest from its radar detector while Jake slept in the seat behind me.

And so, I present to you, in the order in which they were received: Text Messages from Hurricane Ben and Brooke.

H.B.

One evening which consisted of a rich blend of soup, The Brooklyn Museum, and Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale, Hurricane Ben left our house and, tipping his hat to sad-girl-high-school-mini-van-Erica, quoted the most cat-centric The Cure song I know.

Fearing the new trend sweeping Brooklyn of forcible iPhone theft at night when you’re alone and walking, I (very responsibly) made sure he was safely at home before replying with unbridled enthusiasm.

Then Ben wrote back, and made the most innovative suggestion.

!!!

How haven’t I thought of this?

Oh my gawwwwwwd. Seriously, stay tuned. Since receiving this grandest of proposals, I have begun the task of formulating a Cats-Only playlist, one that Quinn has named KOOL 4 KATS. Suggestions welcome, release date pending.

 

And now, from Brooke.

 

Dear world, no, sadly, I do not get picture messages.  I am a relic.

I expressed my approval over and over again.

{warning to sensitives: foul-ish language ahead! we gotta keep this blog more wholesome.}

 

Sufficiently pleased, with visions of Philadelphia hood-rat-cats and self-indulgently-sad cat songs playlists, I will now begin my day. It is cool, windy, and I’ve got coffee breath and the unattainable desire to not do anything.

Meowz.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Mixed Bag O'Cats, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More About Cats and Phone Calls, part the second.

  1. Pingback: The Much-Awaited Release of the Century: A CATS-ONLY PLAYLIST!!! | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

