Permanent Vantage Point

So, listen.

I have several redeeming qualities and I feel like a relatively interesting human. However, if you knew how much time I spent curled up in this sheepskin-draped cardboard accordion chair, my legs tucked under me, you’d promptly find a new friend, or at the very least, a more adventurous cat blogger.

I am happy here, settled and hidden into my own personal house cave. My current and favored position is the point from which I can gaze at my pleasing collection of largely second hand possessions, and admire how neat and orderly they are because I clean our house about seven times a day and tolerate things like coffee rings only on the most aesthetic of levels, briefly, and they then are wiped away with a combination of warm water and vinegar. From here I am within reaching distance of the large breezy window, and I can talk to my burgeoning, sturdy plants and gaze across the tops of the world around me, looking beyond to The City or, more importantly, Libby Cross. I listen to a lot of talk radio, and when I get bored of that I listen to programs such as “Law & Order” or “The X-Files”like the radio. I make lists of arbitrary things with my nicest pen and cross them off in time. I drink coffee or beer, as I told Hurricane Ben, depending on where the sun is. I read books (this most recently) and sad girl poems and I write long or short emails to loved ones and sometimes art criticism for fun or for academic purposes. I think about what I’ll make for dinner or what kind of photographs I’ll take or how much I loathe D.H. Lawrence or how much I like Jake.

Okay, so now that you are disgusted with me and my most mundane of habits, please know that I also spend a lot of time dancing foolishly, socializing, making daring art, seeing galleries, going on trips, making friends, going for spirited bike rides, knitting, listening to music with great fervor, and grocery shopping passionately.

I am just very comfortable hanging out with no one else but me.

Also, from this perch you can see a cat.

I don’t know his name but I wish he would come over.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Permanent Vantage Point

  1. Pingback: About Lots of Different Cats, | welltailoredsuit

  2. Pingback: Lucky! | welltailoredsuit

  3. Pingback: A Smattering of Sightings | welltailoredsuit

  4. Pingback: Home for the Quinn-i-days. | welltailoredsuit

  5. Pingback: Beauty Sleep (to mend the things) | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

