The Much-Awaited Release of the Century: A CATS-ONLY PLAYLIST!!!

Perhaps you recall a recent blog post in which I detailed humorously-terrible pictures of my cat-related text messages.

WELL.

Kindly bring to mind the prophetic words of Hurricane Ben in one such message,

…you could make a really great CD of cat songs…

and my subsequent and enthusiastic promise to the cat community,

Oh my gawwwwwwd. Seriously, stay tuned. Since receiving this grandest of proposals, I have begun the task of formulating a Cats-Only playlist, one that Quinn has named KOOL 4 KATS.

I must note: there have been further, extremely exciting developments in this story. BREAKING NEWS ABOUT CATS!! After H.B. read that post, he replied,

I actually started putting together a cat mix shortly after I sent that text that’s at about 20 songs and counting.

What? I have the most awesome and accomodating friends. Srsly.

Later conversations yielded the link to the for-real playlist, along with this note, giving credit where credit is due:

…aided by my buddies Ian (who provided me with most of my library after the great hard drive crash of ’10) and Anna (who sent me suggestions from the Czech Republic.) A few duplicates (Nugent “Cat Scratch Fever” vs. Pantera’s? R.E.M.’s “Star Me Kitten vs. William S. Burroughs?) and definitely more than one from a Disney movie. Bet your mama don’t know you scratch like that…

So, Musical Ian and Czech Anna, thank you so much for joining this cat collaboration!!

Today I synthesized Hurricane’s playlist, called “Cat Power” with the (MUCH SMALLER) one Quinn and I began, called “KOOL 4 KATS“, adding a late-breaking addition or two…

More cat songs? All I can think of since submitting the playlist is part of “Back in Black” (“Nine lives! Cat’s eyes!”) and a song that dominated the Virginia kids’ music channel in winter ’92 about Socks taking his first steps into the White House. “Here Comes Socks,” methinks?

AND I THEN MADE A HUGE PLAYLIST TO END ALL PLAYLISTS ENTITLED:

 

I’m Kool 4 Cat Power

Please. Click on it. Listen to it. Let it become the soundtrack to your world (because you know it’s mine.) Send in your additions (if you can possible think of any, because Hurricane Ben is an undisputed music encyclopedia/gentleman).

We can keep this thing going, a giant nebulous ball of ever-growing volume, all of all cat songs all the time forever and ever.

What could be better?

Playlist creators, from L to R: Daly, Apatoff, Bearclaw. Don't forget about that there cat dress peeking out.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Much-Awaited Release of the Century: A CATS-ONLY PLAYLIST!!!

  1. SAWK says:

    ack! i used to love trout fishing in america. and I KNOW ALL THE WORDS TO THAT SONG.

  2. Pingback: More About Cats and Songs | welltailoredsuit

  3. Pingback: Gratitude, Catitude Abound | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

