Lucky!

While I sit in my most unflattering house outfit, perched in my usual spot watching the 44 degrees F, 100% chance rain, stream past the snugly-shut windows, coffee steaming up my glasses, someone I like a lot is having an awesome time somewhere else.

I know there must have been points in my life of wandering (now, for instance) when outside observers might have commented, “Wow, she must have having an incredible time. Lucky!”

For instance, on my shoe-string jaunts through European countries as 1/5 of the most successful friend group to ever meet and fall in love on a sunny English afternoon in January.

I went back and tried to find one of the five of us, but Libby is suspiciously missing from many photos...so here's one of me looking really dirty and like I've eaten too much cheese in bed in Marseilles, photo credit Bunky Fallon.

 

…or in my mountain-side adventures slogging through the back and high country of New Zealand with my bearded companion and Krambles.

At the summit of Mt. Somers.

 

…or even in my glory days as an all-American summer camp counselor who is a girl but looks like a boy, where I met this little lady. (The one in black, with all the pearrrrrlz.)

From L to R: Mufasa, SNIFFER (who brings us here today), Rocket, Beaker, Techno.

 

Sniffer. Boat mistress. Lover of hard, preserved meats. Great at making “mmmmmmmmmmmm” noises close to my face and then it is bedtime and we are reading “Sal Fisher” by flashlight and yelling at the kids to be quiet. (Even thinking of this now makes my heart hurt in a glad way, because I know I will see her again, and I didn’t realize how much I missed her– and all of you– until right now.)

Enjoys setting things on fire.

Well, she’s having a pretty fantastic time in a place that is not here.

Update of my cat-traveling life?

I quit my job in order to live free and find cats. Well, I didn’t set out to find cats, but boy have I! I found them hunting in france, roaming around fishing village islands near Venice, In italy on farms in the Po Delta region, and befriending dogs in Tuscany. I can only imagine What more I will find in Rome, Morocco, Spain, and England.

I love finding these friendly little fur balls.

The last farm I was staying on took in at least 15 cats. There were also 3 little kittens that I enjoyed protecting from the big dogs on the farm (I also liked to put them in my fleece zip-up – just to keep them close)

Whenever I see a cat I think, ‘Beaker would love this”. Traveling and Cats. Thats all you need.

I hope that all is well in Brooklyn, I’ll be visiting when I return.

Oh baby, I hope so.

Here is a picture of her farm times.

Some of them are HUGE.

 

To my wandering star, from here to there I string a line of kisses to you. I hope they fall where they may and some might accidentally reach your mouth and then we feel weird for like a second and laugh and then all the kids say, “Well of course they kissed, that one girl’s a boy.”

Love from,
Beaker

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lucky!

  1. Pingback: Weekend Sampler | welltailoredsuit

  2. Pingback: Your Own Personal Sped-Up European Vacation Complete With CATS | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

