The Gift of a Cat

Recently I’ve found myself with:

a) not a lot of time to blog
b) lots to blog about

This is a conundrum indeed, and now that it is the weekend and I am caught up on sleep and full of coffee and eggs and potatoes and spicy V8 (that might turn into spicy V8 with beer in it later) and Jake is seated across the table from me, once again polishing his bike parts and I’ve got nothing but teacups and parties and Roys and work I enjoy doing in my foreseeable future, I’m ready to blog.

Today, I shall mention those of you who have recently come forward with cat gifts of ferocious quality.

from MORMOR

This post comes a little late, but this kitty came right on time. Happy belated Halloween!! (From Zombie Kitty.)

This graces our “mantle” (read: shelf that came with our apartment that is only sort of in the wall correctly yet prominently displayed), along with my slightly broken lamp, six small gourds from Roy, my Polaroid Land Camera that the Madre and Padre de Jake gave me last Christmas, and a picture of Jake and I on the day I turned 22.

It’s in good company.

 

from SAM

Sam is my dear New Orleans auntie’s eccentric-and-loveable painter friend of great mystique. This piece, a birthday gift from back in May, made the bold trek north a few months ago with my New Jersey-residing sister, Bearin. And, when she and her boo lost power last weekend, it crossed the water twice and settled in with me, here in Brooklyn where it was immediately hung in our bathroom and Malaika laughed with glee and Jake shook his head resignedly.

I love it.

 

from MOLLY

Molly is an excellent and dedicated friend and former neighbor of good repute and she is willing to overlook the fact that I am possibly the worst ever at calling people back, even if I like them so much I could burst. (Dave, I’m looking at you here, too.)

(It is important to also note that I recently asked her to be our Florida Cat Correspondent!)

I apologized for my terrible friend habits, and she wrote,

neighbs. you are the worst at calling back. and had you NOT posted on my wallski with this sweet job opportunity, i would have had to make the trip to new york to walk into your house kramer-style and demand justice and soft pretzies.

i downloaded the gif of the scared cat quinn sent you and have showed no less than 17 people. Consider you offer accepted. i love your blog on a sick level. tell jake his beard is lovely. tell quinn his mustache is fantastic. tell roy his facial hair in general has no equal…either here…or germany. thank god. Florispondant out.

(Okay, seriously, cat-viewing public– how can you NOT just want to seal this girl in your wall and never let her leave, ever?)

I am enthusiastic about the new addition to our team! (This looks great on a resume, I promise. I don’t pay, but at least there is that.) Now that we’ve got the UK and Florida thoroughly covered, I feel pretty confident that we’ll collect all the relevant cat news the world has to offer.

Here is Molly’s gift to me– her loyal friendship, hilarious hijink(es), and this first Florida Cat Correspondent post.

well. they started in miami so it counts.

Whoooooooah, check out this fantastic voyage, and then listen to the David Bowie song concurrently for the full, outrageous effect.

 

Cat blogger, out.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote, Florida Cat Report, Mixed Bag O'Cats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

