Wrapping and Unwrapping

The guests are gone, the floor is swept, the closet is organized, the legs of the cat blogger are covered in bruises owing to an impromptu large-shelf-moving project that happened yesterday in the company of her other Quinn…

and so let’s get some cat business done!

Here is another rundown of cat gifts I had the good fortune to receive this Christmas–these, specifically, from Jake’s family– welcome to OUR family! We drink a lot of coffee and listen to a lot of “Murder, She Wrote” here while doing the dishes and writing sad girl poems. So look forward to that.

These delightful socks are from Mormor, California cat lady extraordinaire/Jake's amazing grandmother. Mother Mother.

Jake's parents gave me four of Ursula Le Guin's Catwings books, and I am excited to share them in greater detail as I investigate their heartwarming pages. Coops! Look forward to me reading them to you. AHHHH CATS AND BABIES.

One day Jake's mom taught Ingrid and I how to quill and then one day after that Jake's dad found this pretty quilled kitty and brought it home for me! He now adorns our bookshelf, in front of my treasured copy of "Art in Theory 1900-2000".

Mormor sent along this little glass lady from her post out west and this morning I found a spare magnet and glued him plum to it. With this new possession, I shall hang up all manner of flim flam and craft and adorn our refrigerator properly.

I can’t be thankful enough for the outpouring of love and felines and love in the form of felines that has graced me.

I began this cat blog because I was sad, lying awake during long New Zealand nights in my half of our tiny quilted bed, watching the wind and the rain blow the shadows of trees around in wild patterns on our wall. I had come into everything I had wanted– bowls of noodles and thick coffees and the capable hands of my Bearded Companion and a job with art and my own desk and remote mountainsides and violent sunsets. But on my walks to work in the blinding streets just after sunrise, watching the ocean flay itself on the rocky coast from the tall hill where we were living, my insides felt empty and my hair blew around my head and my eyes looked at everything and nothing.

Caught in my tangled thoughts, I left the museum one evening and told Jake I was going to start a blog. About cats. Jake gave me his “you are a crazy bus lady” look, and I was unsure. But I was unsure about everything! And cats were everywhere! And I loved finding them and touching their little furry chins! And once I had a cat and wrote a poem about him and everyone at the reading thought it was about my boyfriend!

The stage was set, and two days later I couldn’t sleep, and I began.

This blog has always been three parts “me dealing with my inherent squashiness” and one part “cats”, and it has brought me a slightly embarrassing sense of personal worth. However, without meaning to, this blog has more importantly become demonstrative of all the people who love me, and maybe this knowledge is what I forgot in New Zealand– and the thing that was missing all along.

Thank you.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wrapping and Unwrapping

  1. Kristin says:

    So glad you know how highly we all thing of you! (And also cats. Did you know I got one on Monday?!)

  2. Pingback: With Relish | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

