The Cats that Surround

The other day while I was cleaning a spice rack I found on the street with a solution (is this the correct word to use here? I only last night found out what DNA’s deal is, and that rocks don’t have it. [??!!??] Don’t tell John O’Donnell.) of diluted vinegar, some dude from the electric company came to the door to offer me lower rates, etc, which has happened three times now but it doesn’t seem to take. So I am giving him precious chunks of my time which could otherwise be spent re-reading my own e-blabberings continuing to clean found furtiture, and then he is on the phone with the office straightening the details of our account and he gives the letter-portion of our apartment number as being “C….as in Cat. Yes, Cat” and in my head I was like, “Don’t come in and see all the crazy cat stuff I have!”

Which made me realize. It’s everywhere.

I have blogged about this largely before, but there are some updates, and I shall give them to you now.

The most significant recent addition is the family crest Mike Shea created for our (extremely small) family for Valen-Day. I don’t think I need to say this again, but I will: MIKE SHEA IS INCREDIBLE HIRE HIM TO DRAW EVERYTHING YOU NEED DRAWN.

Here is the scanned version, courtesy of M. Shea’s tumblr. (pen/ink/coffee/paper)

 

aaaaand here it is, framed, on the wall opposite where I am sitting RIGHT NOW. I hope you will appreciate the mention of Zee Cat Mug. Mike Shea used the blog post itself as artistic reference!

 

It has been said before, but Mike Shea Rules.

Next, it must be mentioned that we are all experiencing a renewed love affair with the Trader Joe’s wine shop. When you are a lady hosting frequent potluck dinners, a $3 bottle of wine is going to go a long way. Well, the pictured wine was slightly more than $3, but still hilariously cheap. This was taken at the excellent, cozy Kaz An Nou, a BYO restaurant near Jake’s work where we three once had a pleasant date and cuddled up to this kitty while simultaneously receiving free dessert.

 

Lost cat posters plague me, and here is another taken a few blocks from home.

(sad face.)

And, finally, now that it is long after Christmas and we are back in our (un)natural habitat, I shall proudly portray the cat pillow Cioci Tina gave me. It proves to be excellent in aiding sat cat girls in watching TV while lying down.

 

Grey day/rain day/work day. Good day.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Sightings!, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

