There’s no denying my roots.

Law & Order, after I listened to every episode you had to offer twice (not counting the afternoons spent in the years 2007-2009 in a consistent state of LOMA melting into the cat town couch with my finest friends), I took a break for a while. Maybe it was the summer of 2010 I spent inside missing my New Zealand-based companion and listening to the entire discography of L&O: SVU on my computer while typing art history notes and hanging out with a cat. That summer made me sad, and I feel like the heinous crimes covered in each episode of my precious police procedural drama effected my sensitive dreamscape.

Anyway, I took a break.

There was Murder, She Wrote (there is always Murder, She Wrote), which remains a classic choice. But I gobbled Jessica Fletcher up pretty quickly, twice in total (have I mentioned how loathsome I am? Reference the daytime TV habits mentioned in my mission statement.), and I was left wanting more.

This morning, waking from too-little-sleep after too-late a too-good night with my Les Cousins Dangereux and our beardy male companions and our Australian import (Norah is 21!), I opened the window and folded the laundry and drank the coffee and came to the realization: there is no denying my roots.

I am a Quinn (closely related to the clan of Besack): I dance hard and erratically, as to inspire specific muscle pain the day after jamming up the floor of the club with my grrrrrrls; sometimes when my leggings are sagging I am wont to stand up in a crowd and kind of shimmy them back in place, much to Roy’s chagrin; I am a fan of cheese-based snacks; and I have an undeniable love for police procedural dramas.

When I heard that music….those opening credits….I swooned.

So I am back to you, L&O. It’s been too long.

And: happy birthday, Norah.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s no denying my roots.

  1. Pingback: Three Pictures for You. | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

