From the Web-Cam Vault

I used to spend a lot of time on Skype.

I had boyfriends in other states, I lived for six months in England and six months in New Zealand, I missed family Easters and Christmases, and after about 2007 my friends got awfully far-flung.  Skype let me pretend, at least for a little while, that we were face to face again. WHEN YOU’RE A SAD SQUISHY GIRL WITH FEELINGS THIS IS AN IMPORTANT THING.

Recently I haven’t used it too much– for a long time now, I have had the good fortune of living in the same one room as my Bearded Companion. I live in America again, and am closer than ever to my Poconos-based family. And, strangely, it seems that most of my friends live in New York? I am lucky. But I still have loved ones in other towns and cities, and last night Libby and I had the great pleasure of calling Australia, and reaching our Jade.

Taking this screenshot made me remember the great lineage of Skype photos from my youthful past, and the cats located therein. Here are some.

Obviously when you get a webcam you are going to make your face look like a cat. C. 2008.

TOM TOM TOM I USED TO HAVE THIS CAT NAMED TOM. This is me, preparing to leave town, and Tom trying to come with. C. 2008.

I once wrote a poem about Tom and read it at an open-mic and some girl said, "I didn't know your boyfriend's name is Tom". Sigh.

When I moved to England I gave Tom to Craig and it broke my heart forever.

Skyping my family is always a treat. C. 2009.

Perpetually winking cat.

Hugs and kisses.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings!, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

