For Warmth

It feels like New Zealand in here.

When I moved there to be with my Bearded Companion on the last day of August, 2010, I thought I was prepared for a mild transition to a southern hemisphere spring. Instead, I spent the first two weeks wearing my tiger-striped long underwear everywhere, even work, constantly shivering, my hands so cold my ring fell off. The thing about New Zealand is this: they don’t really do ‘heat’. So, I moved about our house sluggishly, wearing our large blue duvet as a cape, which made the completion of even small tasks…difficult. I spent a lot of indoor time eating in one place.

And please, bear in mind that I am a former/future dome sleeper. There were mornings I delayed the donning of my ice pants until the last possible moment, mornings I woke up with my hat frozen from the condensation of Jake’s breath. And I loved it.

I, of all people, shouldn’t feel so put off by the current icy-state of our Brooklyn apartment.

With the unseasonably warm weather turning, suddenly, unseasonably cold, the heat in the building is off, and I am outfitted in a large sweater and Jake’s sweatpants and a down vest and my ring is falling off again. The seedlings I planted last week are spending their day hunkered on top of the stove, to glean what little heat is given off by the pilot light. It’s just me and them here, and I am also drinking tea out of the cat mug and trying to drain my stye.

What a day of great mystery and intrigue. Here are some cats.

Zomg. I used to dislike babies, and love cats. Now I love babies and I love cats. Small things. Give me all the small things.

When Jess Besack turned 28, I gave this to her. Nearly two years later, upon seeing it, I said "What a nice card", thereby affirming the greatness of my own taste.

This is the from the winter edition of the "Prattler" from last semester. Cattastic!

Expect mail soon.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For Warmth

  1. Kristin says:

    “Give me all the small things.” I love you.

  2. you and your stye are adorable.

  3. I wrote a comment but I don’t know if it went through. Now I’m feeling awkward and uncomfortable with myself.

  4. I’m pretty sure it didn’t. But just so you know my previous comment was:

    “you and your stye are adorable.”

    Done.

    I’m still feeling awkward and uncomfortable with myself.

Leave a Reply

