Early Evening Cat Song with Siblings

I have spoken before of my great love and respect for my brother– Mon Bon Croissant Fromage Frère. He is a runner, a gentleman, a stock boy, my “Murder, She Wrote”-on-sleep-timer companion, and our very own White Haven Cat Correspondent. He recently took some photos of our family’s cat, Cally, that were SO STUNNING I had no choice but to fast-track them.

They are amazing. JQ, have you heard of the Baroque period in art history? OMG, in medias res 4evr.

After receiving this, I asked him why he isn’t in art school. (Reason #1: he is seventeen.) (Reason #2: He’s really good at math.)

To entice, let us examine: What is the path of art school? Well, I am an example of someone who is holds approximately 1/2 of an MFA– I’m a good enough case study. It is Tuesday evening and I am wearing a second-hand sweater and boxer shorts and drinking wine from a squat green glass and listening to Law & Order and writing about the relationship between memory, space, and poetry. I am alone, and peering over the partition out the window into the cloudy grey-blue sky and the verdant treescape that overtakes my window view. I am contemplating black bean soup. I live in one room with one other person in a building on a leafy street where there are lots of other rooms in which other people live. It is warm, and with the screens in, I can hear some of them– radios, chatter, laughing. There are things I don’t have, things I don’t do, but I printed four really good photographs today, and people like me, and I like myself, and I love my brother, that great bastion of compassion and coolness.

I am lucky, and we are lucky.

This is us with our sister who is also TOTALLY RAD.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Evening Cat Song with Siblings

  1. Bonnie says:

    Awww…three of my favorite little kids of all time have turned out so well! Makes me feel warm and mushy!

  2. Pingback: At the Casa de My Parents | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

