“Slumming it for Libby Cross”

Three years and four months ago, in a faraway land, I met an impressively put-together young Australian woman named Libby Cross in the International Students Office at Leeds University.

From the beginning our unshakable union has been…puzzling, at least to outside viewers. Libby is of good taste (even getting a degree in it!), I frequently am forced by Libby to buy new pants. Libby’s personal cleanliness is admirable, mine often gets put off to do other things, like look out the window. I wear a hat to hide my unkempt hair, Libby’s hair should never be hid from anyone who likes looking at things that are awesome. I love hugs, Libby is not as interested in hugs, and so forth. But we are friends of the highest order, going through revolving doors together and picnicking on my (only) bedsheet in Central Park and looking at small dogs at daycare through the window of a small dog daycare and one time we were both listening to “Bizarre Love Triangle” at the same time without knowing it.

We were also once “in a relationship” on Facebook, but too many people actually thought Libby was a Libzbian, so that dissolved after about a year.

Three years ago, I experienced my first Libby birthday.We had milkshakes, wine, dance parties, cupcakes with weird faces on them,  some of us may have later been trampled in a nightclub, etc. But that month, I fully came to understand how important Libby’s birthday is to her. (It’s really important.)

I will now provide for you a brief list of Libby’s interests. I will attempt to cover #1 and #3 in this post.

  1. Taylor Swift
  2. Christmas
  3. Libby’s Birthday
  4. Trader Joe’s Yogurt-Covered Raisins
  5. Tennis

If I had a list of least favorite things, Taylor Swift might top it. BUT because I love Libby so deeply and am really just trying to trick her into marrying me so she can get a green card and stay here forever and we can buy a house and be wacky roommates and maybe get a dog, is that too much to ask (?), I will (for the first and only time) dedicate this post to Taylor Swift, in a cat context of course .

(Do you know how embarrassing this is? I’m writing this in an art school computer lab. I think you can get kicked out for something like this.)

Is that even Taylor Swift?

 

Happy birthday, Libstar. I promise that this year, like all the years, I will have clothes that will break and you’ll make me buy new ones and it will rain and you will say, “AWWWRRR NAWWWR” and we will conclude that it is fire-ing on the inside.

Love,
Erica from America

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in European Cat Adventures, Mixed Bag O'Cats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Slumming it for Libby Cross”

  1. Pingback: J4 | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

