In the Wind

The breeze through our open window is cool, but welcome, and I wear shorts and a blanket and a sweatshirt with the hood pulled up. All afternoon I have been working, or eating, now all evening I will be working, or eating.

There must be a break for cat blogging.

Word by word, I am closer to finishing the first half of my MFA. They’re hesitant now, but gradually, as deadlines loom, they will flow more freely and I will print piles of papers and allow summer to descend most fully upon me. As always, we are just about between things. For now, for today, my Bearded Co-Cat Finder is sick, home early from work, sleeping off a sore-throat across the room while my keys chatter and I drink tea after tea after tea and allow the first breaths of summer to wash over me here at this table on the fourth floor where I can see rooftops and leaves and flight paths in the blue sky above. We will live like this, in the grip of wonderfully boring domesticity for just a short time longer, at least for now, and then we will have separate summers. I will sit by this window, Jake will sit by that window, and with 262 miles between us, think of all the cats.

Here are some who live nearby.

[sighting: Washington Avenue at Classon Avenue, Brooklyn, NY]

 

[sighting: 6th Avenue, NY, NY] 

 

[sighting: Franklin Avenue at Fulton Street] 

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote, Sightings! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

