Hurricane Season

So we have this friend named Ben. He is exuberant and kind and, though perpetually busy, always manages to talk or listen, meet for beers or to hear music, write long emails or a metal blog, work 100 jobs or stay out all night while other companions fall asleep with their faces pressed into his hands. Also, one time when I barely knew him I invited him over to watch “Murder, She Wrote” and drink beers which in retrospect strikes me as a weird invitation to ask a near-stranger BUT HE CAME OVER ANYWAY.

Because he’s submitted so many TRULY HIGH QUALITY kittens over the last couple months, we might as well give him his own special.

Without further ado.

1. From an email called “Tim on Cats“.

Courtesy of my old drinking buddy Tim–how could I not send you this?

 

 

2. What Ben sent around last summer, when looking for a new apartment.

Hello, my name is “Ben” and I am a 6’1, 150-lb. Virginia purebred. My wonderful family can no longer take care of me, and are putting me up for adoption this summer. I am looking for some kind-hearted folks to take me in by September. Rent and location are negotiable.

I am loyal, independent, affectionate and house broken. I jump up and down when I’m excited, and my favorite pastime is chasing after the frisbee in Prospect Park. I can walk myself home and I’m friendly with strangers. Please send any possible homes to [BEN’S EMAIL ADDRESS], or forward this e-mail to anyone willing to take in a scruffy but well-behaved roommate.

 

 

3. A book whose blog-importance should be obvious– “Millions of Cats”. 

 

 

4. “Not really a boy, but with a cat and beard.”

Oh hey, Stanley Kubrick!

 

 

5. So, this made me laugh perhaps harder than it should have. 

(originally sent from Metal Injection)

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Mixed Bag O'Cats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

