Crossing State Lines

I am in a bus, surrounded by my worldly possessions, headed back to see my Olive and to thank my excellent cat sitters Quinn, Mike Shea, and Christina for their fortitude over these past two weeks. I have been gone for a long, long time it seems, and it’s tempting just to stay drifting, to pinball from location to location seeing loved ones here, seeing loved ones there. Luckily, there is a cat at home in our one room (which will be half empty) compelling my return…and reminding me that it’s time to find a job and be responsible, etc.

Anyway, here are the cats that have decorated this visit.

 

This is the last picture of me being 23.

Here is that same kitten, lounging in the living room. Look at that green! Makes my heart hurt.

One night, JQ and I played Scrabble by porchlight and Momcat brought out zee kitten for a looksee. She (cat) was not in her element.

The kitten retreats.

Upon cleaning out my childhood bedroom, I discovered many kitties, including these renderings of my old cat, Tom (full name: Tom Tuten) that I did IN ENGLAND.

And this is a purse that I believe Uncle Mike gave me? It used to fit around MY WAIST. This should give you an idea of this object’s age.

Cioci Tina’s luggage tag– what a thrill!

JQ tried to make the cat interested in that Friskies video-game-for-cats alluded to in an earlier post. She wouldn’t have it. JQ played.

 

While I was away, my team of dedicated cat-sitters watched my three-legged friend. They checked in along the way.

 

From Quinn: “DAY ONE: curiosity? The second after I took this, she flopped over on her back and tried to attack the air.”

From Mike Shea: “Livin Large!!”

 

As I opened the last picture, JQ pointed out that a screenshot would show the audience the way in which my desktop background, Jake, interacted with the-cat-who-is-not-his-daughter. So here you are.

 

Jake Mouth + Olive Hands

 

I am home now. I am sweating. Olive and I are trying to position ourselves so no part of our body touches any other part of our body. She is at my feet. The windows are open. The grocery list is bursting. There is much to do.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Olive, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

