Today is J5…

Many thanks to Dave’s mom for sending this photo of Mia (dog) getting the stink eye from The Biggest Cat in the World.

…and Dave, owner of The Biggest Cat of the World is visiting for a few days. My house and floor are a a revolving door of love and celebration. I may only be partially employed, I may be alone in the world with my Olive and my “Murder, She Wrote”, but BOY do I have excellent friends. Dave, naturally, is A+, #1, and has been by my side, drinking lemonade and smirking at daytime television for this afternoon and also our whole lives to this point and for forever.

Dave loves, cats, life in general, it seems, and so I shall devote today’s post to him. That grand, grand bearded gentleman.

Dave lives near a Wegman’s and so THIS happens there. I have been assured that he and Christie were hanging on Buju and Ziggie’s every word this past year.

 

 

Aaaaand, this article Dave found just reinforces his gentleness and love for public good. Behold, the Indiana State Prison’s cat program.

The program, covered by the intrepid blog Cat Odyssey, pairs men of the Indiana State Prison with kitten companions. This story is really incredible; you do need to read it, especially if your name is Ingrid. Anyway, full text here, partial text here:

The Assistant Superindent of the prison tells me, “I know there are people out there who think the offenders shouldn’t have cats. Some people don’t want them to have TV or anything to do. But I would support this cat program at any prison. Those cats humanize the men. The cats give them unconditional love, for many of those guys, that may be the only love they have ever experienced in their lives. And the bottom line for me, is that my staff are safer because of it. Every day that none of my staff gets hurt—that’s a good day. Watching over these guys is a dangerous job. And anything that makes that job safer is good with me.”

Believe, why don’t you, in the way in which cats can improve the lives of both Wegman’s patrons and prisoners. Dave has everyone covered. He’ll be wearing grey, smiling gently somewhere in the background, worrying about the states of all of our souls and also whether a re-run of Early Edition is on.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today is J5…

  1. Pingback: New Cat on the Block: Cicero! | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

