Always in the in-between.

I am in the middle of guests and visits (Camera Coon and Steve followed by a hysterical car ride to Huntingdon and a lonesome bus ride back to New York, followed by Jade followed by Michelle followed by Lauren followed by staying up all night and dancing to Joy Division and crawling around in the plant at sunrise followed by a 5:30 am departure and an 8:00 pm departure, followed by the arrival of Dawn, followed by the arrival of Aunt JoAnn, who has not yet come but I am waiting for her in a coffee shop on Franklin Avenue), in the middle of life pursuits (long lazy summer followed by exciting art employment followed by art school and then having three jobs again, just like the old days), in the middle of head and heart and feelings.

Some things remain the same. I am, for instance, having coffee. Right now. I think I’ve had coffee every day since I’ve started having coffee, except for the day Lauren and I were in Paris and I checked my bank account in the evening and Lauren said I looked like I was about ready to die and IT’S TRUE, I was. If only I had the bean-wine in my veins. I could have handled the news better.

I am still resplendent with feelings. I still don’t throw anything away. I still love the song “Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine” by the musical artist James Brown and I still remember the time I was walking home and heard it blasting from not one but two open garages. I still really like beets.

I still really like cats.

They are, perhaps, the one thing that remains. Along with my love of scavenging.

In honor of the impending great lady herself, I will share with you an email sent some time ago by good old Auntie Jo, who claims not to like cats BUT THIS IS A LIE.

It was entitled FWD: No Stress! 

“This is how I heard your day was going”

First you had trouble getting out of bed…

You had a stiff neck…

Your new diet really doesn’t seem to be working out…

You pulled a muscle when you tried to exercise…

You keep losing things…

You got caught in the rain at lunchtime…

Then the lunch you had didn’t seem to agree with you…

You feel trapped…

Uninvited guests showed up at dinnertime…

On top of that you think you’re coming down with the flu…

And finally, you’re alone in the house at night when you think you hear a noise in the basement…

 

MAYBE TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER!!
About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Mixed Bag O'Cats and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Always in the in-between.

  1. bruce jenner says:

    Did you happen to catch any of the olumpics?

Leave a Reply

