Bringing it Back

I have been absent for some time. I have been writing papers about contemporary photography and old masters’ paintings and papers about Lewis Carroll’s problematic images of young girls and creating super sad photo installations while listening to Leonard Cohen in my studio alone while it is raining outside and I have been fulfilling stereotypes and acting as a guest critic-critiquer and throwing birthday parties and going to Christmas parties and having dinners and saying goodbye to my Bearded Companion and saying hello to my ol’ Roymate and grading 70 papers and 70 exams in the space of two days and scanning film and making videos of my cat breathing and finishing the year’s work for my art boss and getting avocado all over my leggings and listening to the radio and biking while screaming and threatening to kill “your entire family” and I have been working on my potential anger issues.

It has been tense.

In any case, today I woke early and walked into the warm wet Brooklyn morning, took the subway to the bus and took the bus to New Jersey where I met my sea-star for spicy noodle dishes and hot tea and non-conclusive fortunes and we made our slow crawl toward Pennsylvania in her car that filled with river water during Hurricane Sandy and at some point the rain turned to snow and the sun set early. Since arriving to The Land of Our Birth, times have been resplendent, and sleepy. We are tucked together on the couch re-visiting Arrested Development while my Mom finishes decorating the tree. We are people who like going outside but just as equally like watching TV lying down. We are a fun bunch, and we are about ready for bed.

JUST KIDDING WHO WANTS TO DANCE.

Photo on 12-21-12 at 10.00 PM

Here is your daily dose of gatoz. Memoirs from my school life, which I have temporarily left behind. See you never, January 14th.

So, I am the TA for two sections of undergraduate art history. Did you know that Pratt has cats? IT’S TRUE. One morning, while sipping coffee and listening to Evan’s Survey of Western Art I lecture, I watched a Pratt Cat wander in, and everyone went bananas. THE MADNESS CONTINUED when Evan scooped the cat up and continued to lecture while PETTING IT. (Difficult to see in this photograph.) Every 18 year old girl (and one who is 24) cooed and screamed.

IMG_5886

(That is my computer, which I am now using to type this. We are living in a modern world indeed.)

Stay safe, everyone. Sleep well tonight– I shall be sleeping for perhaps 100 hours.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Charming Anecdote and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

