My Greatest Gift is You, But Then There Are All These Cats You Gave Me

It’s a day late, but here it is…..my rambling, perhaps not fully inclusive roll call of all the lovely and much-appreciated cat-related presents that came my way this Christmas.

from AUNTIE L

It was a misty moment indeed when Jake’s Madre presented me with this magical bag of things Auntie Lauri had set aside for me before her death. She was a real stunning lady, and these gifts show that for certain.

Photo on 12-30-12 at 10.48 AM #2

Bedtime reading.

Photo on 12-30-12 at 11.39 AM

Now we have this to add to the Pente and Bananagrams game shelf family.

CAT GLASSES

CAT GLASSES

Accompanies the quilled kitty El Padre de Jake gave me last year!

Accompanies the quilled kitty El Padre de Jake gave me last year!

 

from ERIN

IMG_4926

Mug from Erin, which is now used to hold our colorful new chopsticks, from Mormor!

from JQ

IMG_4925

Now I’ll always know what day it is!

from AUNT GLENNIE

Glennie found this wonderful card among Auntie Lauri's things, and she sent it my way. These kitties now guard my jewelry.

Glennie found this wonderful card among Auntie Lauri’s things, and she sent it my way. These kitties now guard my jewelry. It was not for Christmas, but it is indeed beloved.

from JAKE’S FAMILY

Many of the gifts that are given when I come down to Maryland for a belated Christmas with the Wellers are fantastic objects, delicious treats, unusual finds, and their presentation is somewhat all at once…so, though I am not specifically sure of the giver of these gifts– Mormor? Madre? Padre? Lauri? Glennie? Iggo?– I am certain of the love behind them, and the appreciation of their receipt.

Remember the cats who guard my jewelry? This little lady helps.

Remember the cats who guard my jewelry? This little lady helps.

KITTY SOCKS with helpful grippers so I don't fall. This is me using them with the Quinn family cat.

KITTY SOCKS with helpful grippers so I don’t fall. This is me using them with the Quinn family cat.

from MARY

Grandma jewelry? Check.

IMG_4924

from MATT, our UK CAT CORRESPONDENT and KAT

This has become a fast favorite with visitors.

This has become a fast favorite with visitors.

from OLIVE but really I think it could have been LA MADRE DE JAKE

Someday I will live somewhere where I wil have to drive and I will drive while listening to this and I will for sure wait in the driveway but until then I'll just lie on our couch in Brooklyn and sip coffee and smile.

Someday I will live somewhere where I wil have to drive and I will drive while listening to this and I will for sure wait in the driveway but until then I’ll just lie on our couch in Brooklyn and sip coffee and smile.

These might not represent them all, and if I catch any stragglers hiding on my bookshelves or in a kitchen cabinet, I will report on it promptly. This list doesn’t mention the print given to me by Ingrid– which will be published once it has been framed, or Olive’s cat treat haul from my family– which is on its way to being devoured, or Jake’s gift which deserves its own photo-essay post. I feel so inundated by all of the good will that has been thrown my way. And also, I love you.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote, Olive, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Greatest Gift is You, But Then There Are All These Cats You Gave Me

  1. Grandma says:

    Now I have a complex not having contributed to your ‘cat-lection’……but you could always use the $5 to buy some intresting ‘cat-rinket!’ love you lots xxoo…..Grandma Q.

    • bearicaquinn says:

      Grandma!! Your gift will indeed become a cat gift, whether or not you know it. You will find out soon. And, in either case, anything from you is a greatly treasured thing…I just don’t have a blog big enough to hold them all! We love you lots.

      xoxoxoxo

  2. Pingback: Vintage Photo Essay con Kitty | welltailoredsuit

  3. Pingback: Cliché of Myself | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

