New Lips, New You

Welcome to Day 6 of my cold turkey endeavor to beat chapstick. FOR GOOD.

Ten years ago, a dermatologist said, “For the love of God, stop using that stuff now!” and I was like “Okay” but then continued my wayward ways, obsessively gumming up my lips with one brand after another, the original black Chapstick chapstick, Burt’s Bees, Trader Joe’s Virtuoso, that egg thing that is apparently trending with high school girls according to my brother. My addiction ran deep: for more than a decade, I applied the stuff approximately once every five or ten minutes except for while sleeping of course, though it was always within arm’s reach, sometimes under my pillow. I had various chapsticks squirreled away in pockets, purses, backpacks, desks, lockers, drawers. I broke Quinn’s nose once in a chapstick-related scuffle. It got nasty.

Then, six days ago, Dr. Matt Chabot the Dog said, “You should really stop” and I said, “Okay”, and meant it.

It’s not been pretty.

~~WARNING: THIS IS A GROSS PHOTO IF YOU ARE NOT INTO GROSS THINGS THEN DISCONTINUE READING OR JUST SKIP AHEAD TO THE CATS~~

+++###+++
$$$&&&$$$
+++###+++

Photo on 1-10-13 at 11.04 AM

It’s not as bad as it looks. It’s the light, really.

So, while I am waiting for my body to recover, I am hitting the olive oil a couple times a day, just to keep the mouth parts moving, and I am trying to divert my frantic attention to other tasks, perhaps… CATS?

This will be an even greater outlet than ever imagined.

Some cats I have found.

Quinn/Will/Kat’s Apartment, Bushwick, Brooklyn

IMG_5929

Yep, that's a Kat touching a cat.

Yep, that’s a Kat touching a cat. And, yep, that’s Quinn.

Bodega, Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn

IMG_6451

IMG_6452

IMG_6453

IMG_6454

IMG_6455

IMG_6456

Where We Live, Crown Heights, Brooklyn

Jake’s reading partner.

IMG_6457

IMG_6460

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Olive, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Lips, New You

  1. declansynott says:

    I love that you folks in New York can have bodegas with real cat mascots, right next to the orange juice and the beer, the way commerce should be. Instead of the Draconian rules that wouldn’t allow that combination in Pennsylvania. Was the bearded one buying chapstick in that scene?

  2. Pingback: Madre’s the Word | welltailoredsuit

Leave a Reply

