Gratitude, Catitude Abound

I see all the edges of things these days, maybe because we are leaving soon and this place that has irked me for so long is most beautiful now. Biking into Manhattan I look down into the churning river and wonder what’s under there– bodies and excrement no doubt– but it looks stunning from a distance, suspended above ferries and rooftops, before buzzing into the milieu of Chinatown and disappearing into the city’s folds. As I write this our sky is ugly- grey/white, hanging low over the expanse of Brooklyn’s chimneys and fire-escapes visible from the windows, but when I face directionally, I know just where the people I love are; I know when we are standing on the same soil. 

I write often and lengthily about just how much I love the people I love. Sometimes I just want to squeeze them until they come apart, keep them talking late into the night or on the telephone, type them little messages as fast as I can until I fall asleep with The X Files on, smile at them in their yellow dresses, bike home along water at 4:00 am, exhilarated and filled with feeling and words, just wanting to say everything while I am saying nothing.

As a wise woman said yesterday, “life just blows and is also so beautiful that I don’t quite know what to do with it”.

And then there are those who give the timeless gift of cats.

from MADRE y PADRE

As part of my graduation gift of wonders, the parents de Jake left me this little meow purse nestled in a bag of jumbie tentacles.

IMG_6621

 

 

Additionally, they left me with something of Auntie Lauri’s that will certainly come in handy over the coming weeks– M. C. Escher cat thank you cards.

What a thing. I can’t wait!

IMG_6629

 

from HURRICANE BEN

First of all, if you aren’t reading Ben’s excellent metal blog, then perhaps you should start. Last week I was incredibly heartened to see myself featured in a post called Meow Mix, for which Ben compiled A WHOLE NEW cat-themed playlist. (Perhaps you recall our earlier endeavor, right after meeting two years ago.)

Well, I was even more heartened to see Ben later that day, at which point I received a hard copy of the Meow Mix from the world’s coolest teacher/heavy metal aficionado.

IMG_6624

 

IMG_6625

 

IMG_6626

 

IMG_6627

 

 

My father will be especially glad to know that the last song on Meow Mix is Primus’ “Tommy the Cat”.

Additionally, Ben gave me the book authored by his friend Tim Kreider, We Learn Nothing. Since receiving this  book WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE IN THE WORLD PERHAPS I have been reading it quite hungrily, and I remain immensely satisfied that Ben and I were able to see Tim give a reading a couple months ago, at which he shared an essay about his cat life-companion.

 

IMG_6620

Tim Kreider, excellence.

 

 

from TYLER

Quinn Daly’s half-Japanese stunt double recently returned to this land of glass and concrete from a long journey over mountains, through jungles. It was my great honor to receive the world’s creepiest/best finger puppet upon his arrival home.

Jake dislikes its eyes, but they are its most charming feature; of this I am certain.

He guards my cookbooks.

 

IMG_6622

 

from KAT

I am still reeling from the love and support I received from people in the last days of chipping away at my MFA, especially during the week of my thesis show, when loved ones   from various parts of the city, tri-state area, and country streamed through Pratt’s gates to let me hug them forcefully.

However, only one person left pawprints in my sign-in book.

IMG_6628

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch, Charming Anecdote, Mixed Bag O'Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

