Awash in Zee Gifts de Gatos

Huntingdon is soggy, cool, its lawns fresh cut. Here we have radio, coffee, spare birdsong, grey skies, a kitchen filled with vegetables. There is a satisfying slowness to all things here; morning, afternoon and evening slip into each other easily. It is firmly early-to-bed-and-also-to-rise, and at night, peering out of the second-story screen door of this borrowed house I see the backs of sleeping people’s houses, only a handful of lights scattered across the alley. 

When I wake at 9:00 I am late to the day. 

It is a place of great comfort to find myself, writing letters to potential employers about my Boundless Well of Enthusiasm and my Meticulous Attention to Detail. 

It is also a place where the cat gifts come easy. 

 

from SUZANNE

Technically this was sent to my parents’ house in the Poconos, but here in Huntingdon it has found its home, featuring flowers dried by Momcat. 

IMG_0453

 

 

from THE KNEPPSTEPS

Happy birthday to me indeed. So many buddies to carry around– do not believe my worried expression or hair of many emotions– these cats are tops. AND THEIR DANCING, zomg.

IMG_0466

 

 

from KAREN 

Sometimes a kind person not only offers you a completely radical project right out of graduate school, enabling you to move to the town of your dreams, but THEN THEY GIVE YOU THIS CAT OVEN MITT. 

I wonder sometimes what I have done to deserve all of this affection. 

IMG_0467

Please note its jeans.

 

My jealousy at Babci's cat oven mitt is now mitigated.

My jealousy at Babci’s jaguar oven mitt is now mitigated. Find the legs, 10 pts. 

IMG_0469

 

Someday soon we will live in a not-borrowed house, and then I can show you where I’ll keep my wooden spoons now, thanks to Pam. 

With love.

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Cat Kitsch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

