Newly Returned to Temporary Dwelling

Beatrice, NE

Inaccurately drawn map of distances traveled, one color per day.

Inaccurately drawn map of distances traveled, one color per day.

 

I spent the bulk of yesterday retracing my steps, driving the last two hours back to Beatrice in the dark, everything but the road in front of me swallowed up in blackness, no hint of what lay on either side of the highway besides, window down, the occasional hint of earth mixed with water, the sweetness of dying prairie grass. When I arrived back to this cornfield bungalow the air had grown cold, cold, and I slipped into strange quiet sleep remembering domes that glow like lanterns, dream-breath frozen in the air above our faces.

I am feeling clear headed here. Maybe because the air is clear here, big and clean and open and the sun just cuts through it and the sky shows so much of itself at once. But probably because I am finally getting my brain straightened out. I am reading, I am sipping seltzer, I am writing, I am making images, I am talking, I am staying silent. And I am thinking, thinking.

I am missing you all.

Onto zee cats, or you’re going to suspect this isn’t a blog about cats at all.

from ME

Some photographs of kitties meant to restore one’s faith in humanity, via Buzzfeed.

enhanced-buzz-2837-1340206304-7enhanced-buzz-4557-1340127258-8 enhanced-buzz-4569-1340127257-4

 

from LIBBY

In the words of that great Australian monarch, “dior (heart) cats”.

daphne

 

 

from MIKE SHEA

This Craigslist ad may beat all of the Maine Missed Connections ads I have read, and that is really saying something.

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 8.44.37 PM

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Mixed Bag O'Cats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

