Move Those Little Legs,

my favorite X-Files line, for certain.

I am awake before the dawn, the same dawn that presumably has just dawned upon my east coast loved ones, the sun peering through their city windows and farm windows and sideways-train-alley windows. I am sipping coffee, the sky is lightening. Soon I will wander out to have a look for myself.

I have been spending mornings and evenings here exploring the miles of gravel roads that surround the park, running then biking. Mostly I am the only one, though occasionally I find myself enshrouded in a sunset dust cloud stirred up by a passing pick-up truck– they always wave. The sky is large, and tells you everything up front. No secrets. There is a clarity to the air and, watching the sun roll behind a stand of trees, I can see how it might be bitingly cold here in the winter, silent, icy, falsely warm from behind a window.

 

579119_660544636850_67875286_n

 

1393905_661506778710_902403165_n

 

1374260_661436659230_1789866024_n

 

I have collected many small things in these journeys– the tree standing alone in the cornfield, the gravel itself casting shadows, the sleek black cat turning over its shoulder to look at me, then scurrying off the road into the tall grass.

It is morning; I am feeling agreeable and peaceful. For these reasons and because I love you I will give you a little look-see into the remote dynamics of my family life.

 

Composition with Father, Mother, Cat and Overeager Sad Cat Girl

Composition with Father, Mother, Cat and Overeager Sad Cat Girl

 

The sun is creeping up into the sky now. Sunrises and humble blue mugs of coffee and the seldom cars that pass along the highway remind me of other pre-dawns I’ve sat through with warm and peaceful ladies– my mom, Sarah. As the latter would say– be well.

 

About bearicaquinn

Smallish, smushy in the sad parts, certainly destined for cat-lady-dom. Enjoys boats, bikes, black coffee, pug faces, sourdough bread, the morning when you have slept long enough, beards, mountainsides, art, rooftops, etc. Will continue to live in things that are interestingly shaped. So octopus.
This entry was posted in Sightings!, The Cats of Others and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

